Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuscan Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuscan Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2003

      This made a lovely and delicious soup. The only change was I used 3 cloves of garlic. We loved the flavor of the sweet Italian sausage. This made a nice, hearty, easy mid-week meal. I served it with Italian bread and a glass of merlot. Thanks Lorac :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Our family loves this soup! I slice the potatoes rather than cube, double the spices, add an extra 2 cups of broth, about 1/8 - 1/4 cup bacon bits (sounds disgusting I know, but it really makes it) and we sometimes leave out the cream. SO yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Delightfully rich and delicious! I made this exactly as posted and couldn't have enjoyed it more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Great flavor in this Tuscan Soup. I used Hot Italian Sausage for the hot sausage, fresh white beans, fresh basil and 1/2 and 1/2. Be sure to drain the fat from the sausage before proceeding. Even though I made half a recipe we still have lots left. Served with Tuscan Bread Salad (Panzanella).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      27* with a few changes. Turkey Italian sausage, sweet potatoes and milk rather than cream. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Really nice hearty soup recipe. No one in my home likes spinach, so I omitted it. I used spicy italian sausage, and added a little sugar, which gave it a really nice flavor. It may have been overkill in starches, but I added 1/2 cup of barley and 1 cup of small ziti noodles, and everyone really liked it. Great winter soup! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Awesome soup I will be making my own. I used small red potatoes (eaiser to chop) and I wasn't thinking and accidentally put the whole carton of beef broth after a whole carton of chicken broth. We really enjoyed the darker flavor anyway so that was a good accident. I doubled the onion, garlic and basil and did as one review suggested and served the soup OVER the spinach. I hate beans but was actually ok with the canellinies. I would love to know what the original spices were as we like it HOT! Next time I will drain the fat off the sausage and try it with kale. The spinach was good, I just like to experiment! Thanks for a great soup I can't wait to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This soup was good, but the next time I will make a couple of changes. First thing I would change would be the amount of Spinich. The spinich was way too overpowering for my family's taste buds. Also, I used the Ore-Ida Obrien potatoes which made this a very easy and a no fuss meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Hubby and I prepared this for a unit "Souper Bowl" party yesterday--it was DELICIOUS! Although there were probably close to 12 different soups brought in addition to appetizers, there was almost nothing left of this one. Many of the attendees asked for the recipe saying it was one of the best soups there. Instead of using baking potatoes, I used 2 1/2 cups Ore-Ida Obrien potatoes with onions and peppers from the frozen case. Besides simplifing my efforts, it added a little extra color. I also used low fat half and half instead of heavy cream to save a few calories. The parmesan cheese is a great finishing touch to a GREAT soup. Thanks for posting; we will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      This is quite an amazing soup! My whole family loved it. I am not a fan of Italian Sausage but I tried it exactly as posted and I am a fan now!! I browned the sausage and onion and then threw everything (but the spinach and cream) in a crock pot and cookedfor about 4 hours; I then added the spinach for about 15 minutes and then the cream for about 10. I forgot to add salt but it definately didn't need any and spaced on the parmesan cheese both times I ate it - perfect without - but I am sure it is quite tasty with the cheese. Thank you for a great and easy soup recipe that will take us through the winter months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Yummy, yummy, yummy! I used beef Italian sausage because my roommate doesn't really like sausage, and he said this was good even with the sausage in it! I don't know who you're feeding, though, Lorac, to only get 4 servings out of this recipe! We each had at least 2 bowls full of this (even the 5 yo picky picky eater), and we still had 2-4 servings leftover. :) the only other alteration was to use vegetable broth and a beef buillon (however it's spelled!) cube (didn't have beef broth). Thanks for a delicious dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      This was really good soup! I did make some changes to it, to suit our taste, though: I used a can of navy beans instead of the cannellini beans, and added a can of Italian style diced tomatoes (juice and all). I also used baby red potatoes instead of russet, threw in 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes for some heat, and diced up a small zucchini. I also used a thawed package of frozen chopped spinach instead of fresh (if you do this, be sure to squeeze it out... there's a lot of extra liquid in the frozen stuff). All in all, it had wonderful flavor and my husband was also a big fan. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      This soup was so good and so fast to make. The only thing I changed was to leave the heavy cream out and it tasted great. Felt like a bite full of goodness with each spoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Yummy! I used sicilian sausage and some additional red pepper flakes and served it with some crusty sourdough. Amazing soup and on the table in no time. This will be a winter staple on my table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      This is by far the BEST soup I have ever had! The only changes I made were that I used brats instead of italian sausage and like NurseDi...I used extra garlic (5 cloves)and for some reason stupid me left the beans out. This was a big hit at our house and I will be making it over and over this winter. Tonight when we heat the soup up I'll be sure to add the beans. Thanks Lorac...I now have a new favorite soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2002

      The minute this showed up in the batch of new recipes yesterday one word entered my mind, "Dinner!!!" I left out the cream and cheese, and it was a perfect weekday winter meal, with some whole wheat rolls on the side and a veggie-laden salad. Thanks Lorac, it's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuscan Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (785 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 693.3
     
    Calories from Fat 378
    54%
    Total Fat 42.0 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 99.9 mg
    33%
    Sodium 2157.4 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 36.0 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes