Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuscan Potato Soup (Zuppa Toscana) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuscan Potato Soup (Zuppa Toscana)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2011

      I have never actually eaten this soup at Olive Garden, so cannot speak to how closely it resembles that soup. However, this recipe made a delicious soup! I did make a few alterations. I used all chicken broth rather than using any water. I also used less water than specified as I wanted a thicker soup. I used red potatoes, and I used whipping cream rather than half and half. I did use the cayenne and the mustard, but not the fennel. The Italian sausage had lots of fennel! At the end I made a bit of roux to try and thicken this up a bit more, and personally I think I should have made more roux or something. However, the flavor of this soup was over the top! Absolutely delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Really fabulous. We love it with some crusty bread. I have made this three times and once I did not have italian sausage but I had a bag of ham ends and pieces (that I use for beans) so I used that in place of the bacon and sausage and my husband preferred the ham.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      I love this soup....My family loves this soup. Neighbors love this soup. ..and what is really sooo cool about this soup is that I can cook it in my crock pot and it still tastes Fabulous!!!!! I try to follow as close as I can to the but I do add cumin cause I like cooking with it. BTW I have eaten at the olive garden and this recipe is far greater then their's....Kudos!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

    • on December 27, 2009

      This soup is awsome! Probably better than Olive Garden. However, I'm going to add more half & half next time. and I used red potatoes instead of the russet. Very very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I didn't have heavy cream and I wanted the soup to be lighter so I used 1/2 cup of sour cream after I removed the soup from the stove. I also used 2 49 oz cans chicken broth without additional water and I omitted the bacon. I also rinsed and drained the sausage without adding any extra grease to the soup. I was leary about adding mustard to the soup so I only added a couple dashes and I am amazed at how much flavor is in this soup. My roommate, who isn't looking for something light, really liked it. This is an absolute keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      **THE BEST!!** The fennel seed makes the differance. My family loves it. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Excellent recipe. Better than Olive Garden. Family and friends love it... thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I feel that I may be a bit amis in rating this 5 stars, as I made so many adjustments to the recipe. I used only about 1/2 of the potatoes, because I had that amount already parboiled. I also added 1/2 green pepper because I thought it sounded good, and it needed to be used up. I also deleted the 9 cups water, because I wanted more of a stew than a soup. However, the flavoring was fabulous in spite of it all. Oh yes, I increased the cream just to add more calories, and satisfaction, as this was going to be dinner in total with just some Texas toast on the side. Hubby didn't comment, but he ate all the leftovers the next day, and he never eats leftover soup. I did think the cayenne was a bit much. (I used the smaller amount of all the spices.) It was pretty hot, but just right for me because I like spicy food. (It was so spicy, that I couldn't eat the soup fast as I wanted to, it was so good.) It would probably be just right if I had put in all 9 cups water and the full amount of potatoes. I'll make this again, but omit the water again, and even decrease the broth to 2 cans, plus use the recommended amount of potaotes. That will make it stew-like except it will need some thickening. I'll think about that. It really tastes GREAT! (I've never eaten this at Olive Garden, so have no clue about how authentic it is.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I am a beginner cooker and rely on recipes for my daily dinners. I generally don't eat soup but this recipe is quite easy and absolutely DELICIOUS!!! It was like I was at Olive Garden. I will definitely include this in my recipe box... I love it; thanks for a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      Excellent. I did not use the saved bacon grease. I cooked the sausage mixture in the same pan as the bacon. I also drained off the grease from the sauce mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I have this recipe and have used it for a number of use. It is exceptional and accurately duplicates Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana Soup. Guests rave about it and the family loves it...the perfect soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuscan Potato Soup (Zuppa Toscana)

    Serving Size: 1 (732 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.9
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    48%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 41.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1373.7 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 19.1 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites