Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuscan Chicken Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuscan Chicken Stew

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2002

      This smelled so good while it was cooking, I could hardly wait to get it on my plate! I took Leah K.'s advice and added some cornstarch, and I used less spinach. Overall, a very tasty dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      A really easy,quick,and delicious dinner. I added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit, and served it with steamed rice.Yet another winning recipe from the kitchen of Mirjam Dorn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      This was such good soup! I love soup with spinach. I came down with a terrible cold today, so decided to make soup instead of the other chicken dish I was going to make. So far, it's been the only up side to having a cold. I had to put noodles in it so the kids would eat it, and I left out the beans because I don't like beans at all. Thank you for a great soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Thanks for this delicious stew that's become part of our regular rotation! The key to the flavour is in the rosemary and garlic - we substitute a tablespoon of fresh rosemary for the teaspoon of dried rosemary called for in the recipe. We also make it more nutritious by adding a can of chopped tomatoes and substituting double kale for the spinach (I also prefer the texture of kale to spinach in soups and stews). Because we're trying to reduce our meat consumption, we also use half the amount of organic, locally raised chicken. When we want to make it heartier, we add more beans and/or potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      This was delicious! We used some leftover chicken breast, along with chicken thighs, and loaded up the stew with kale and lots of additional chicken broth. We also added red pepper flakes to add "sparkle" to the dish. We accompanied it with toasted, sliced french bread topped with European butter and a good red wine - it was perfect for a cold, snowy night. Thanks for posting this, Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      What a delicious, healthy meal. I did use 1 cup of broth, and next time I probably will add a sprinkle of crushed red pepper. I served it over rice and it was a wonderfully quick supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This is a recipe that we make often in my home. It's quick, healthy, and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This is a very, very good healthy chicken dish. To perk it up I did add some hot pepper flakes and, of course, more garlic. To make it more stewlike I thickened it a little. When asparagus is in season I would add it too. A nice change from the heavier chicken type stews. Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      I really loved the chicken and the flavors for this recipe. I do agree that a little more garlic or something to flavor it up a little, but even my husband loved the chicken flavor and he dislikes chicken normally. Thanks for the recipe will try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This recipe sounded so good, smelled wonderful when cooking but I felt it was really lacking in flavor. I do believe with more rosemary & garlic it could taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      My, but this was delicious! I used kale instead of spinach (more tradition in Tuscan cooking), and I used about 1 cup broth instead of 1/2 cup as it seemed a little dry. It didn't make very much, but it was just enough for my husband, our toddler, and me (so long as we aren't ravenous or wanting leftovers!). I think I didn't use quite enough chicken breast (I used 2 boneless skinless halves out of a bagful). Next time I think I'll try 3. Also, since kale requires more cooking than spinach, I added it after 2-3 minutes instead of after 10 and stirred it around a couple of times while it all cooked. The kale was excellent in it--I don't think I'd like the flavor of spinach nearly as well. Overall, it was absolutely delicous; we all loved it (even Mr. Fussypants the 2-year old ate some!). I served it with ciabatta bread and some cheeses, which made for a nice, rustic supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Excellent meal on a cold night. We made the recipe just as it is written and were surprised to find it tasted so good. Just out of sheer luck, we had opened a bottle of 2002 Castello Gabbiano Chianti and it had herby notes that accented the rosemary in the chicken as we ate. We closed the meal with a lemon sorbet and lingered, satisfied that we had enjoyed a healthy, tasty and robust meal. Thanks for the recipe; it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      Hearty, rustic, very good. Recommend some crunchy crust bread to accompany this. I served it in bowls with big spoons - everyone enjoyed. Perfect on a chilly night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuscan Chicken Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.5
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    20%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 479.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 31.1 g
    62%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-sodium fat-free chicken broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites