29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a nice start, but to my taste needed a lot more oomph. By the time I was done, I doubled the salt, garlic, and oregano and had added spinach and kidney beans. With parmesan cheese on top, it was quite nice. Thank you for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B. Licious September 16, 2010

This Recipe was delicious! I used 4 cloves of garlic and sauted the onions with red chili flakes and 1/2tsp of brown sugar. I also added fresh spinach leaves with the beans and topped it off with a couple pinches of parmesan cheese, so good! will definitely make this again, thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m_wujec February 11, 2010

This was just okay. I thought it lacked flavour. It needed a little something something. Maybe a stick of bacon or some olives. Not sure what was missing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Waterskater February 05, 2010

We really loved this! We followed the directions, but added olives like some suggested. It was fabulous, my wife had 3 servings! Next time we might add some kale in it. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zonga26 September 15, 2014

I agree this needed more ooomph! I wanted more herbal flavors so I added some fresh minced rosemary and thyme and an extra clove of garlic. Crushed red pepper flakes added to the dish helped spice it up some. Topped with a little parmesan and it was very good. Next time I will add some greens like spinach at the end to make this a super healthy dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Shorty February 13, 2012

Oh my!!!...this is yummy & sooo fast & easy! Well, I did as another reviewer suggested & instead of the red peppers, I used spinach, green beans, & rosemary (peppers bother me). I make a full recipe, divide into portions, & freeze. Excellent for those days I don't have time to cook. Thank you justcallmetoni for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdlara May 03, 2010

I enjoyed this, but my husband wasn't a huge fan. I substituted chicken broth for the wine, so maybe it would have been better had I followed the recipe exactly! I still may make this for myself again sometime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy032 March 04, 2010

This was wonderful! Since I did not have chicken thighs, I boiled breasts in water, which I then used as the broth; only had crushed tomatoes and didn't have cantaloni beans so used black beans. Conclusion: the basic bones of this recipe are so good that you can make a lot of substitutions and not ruin it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews January 28, 2010

This wasn't what I was expecting. It wasn't bad but the flavor wasn't what I expected. The sauce was too thin and it wasn't as flavorful and I would have liked. Maybe adding additional herbs & spices may help. Maybe substitute chicken broth for white wine. I don't think I would make again. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharron January 24, 2010

Fabulous!!! I had leftover fried chicken, so I boned and skinned that for the poultry, and added every kind of fresh veggie I had in the refrigerator. I used more garlic, some fresh basil, and the fire roasted canned tomatoes. Since I had more vegetables than it called for, and my guy likes his stew in a thicker sauce, I took the drained liquid from the tomatoes and heated it up separately, then added cornstarch. It was amazing, and we will certainly be having it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisinluck January 18, 2010
Tuscan Chicken Stew