Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turtles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turtles

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2001

      This is an awesome recipe!!! I would prefer these turtles over Fannie May, any day! It is a bit time consuming, but the results are fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      The recipe calls for 1 can of condensed milk.... doesnt specify if this is the sweetened type or the plain condensed cooking milk. Since it didnt say "sweetened" I used the plain and it didnt turn out well at all. Please correct this ingredient description.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Awesome recipe! I found this last year when the one I was using wasn't really "authentic" enough for my taste. These to me taste like the real deal. I love them and can't wait to make them again. time consuming yes, but totally worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Great recipe! As good as what I have bought in the Savannah candy shops. I modified the recipe a bit and made Gophers. I coarsely chopped the pecans and formed into "patties" with a cookie cutter as a round mold, then poured the caramel over the nuts in a circle. I skipped step 5 and just let the caramel cool on the stove until the right consistency to pour over the pecan "patties". Swirled the melted chocolate (I used milk, semi-sweet and white) on top of the caramel. Made wonderful Christmas gifts! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      these were amazing! going to be making these every year for christmas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This recipe got really good reviews from my guests. They are time consuming to make, but are a nice treat. My caramel remained tacky even after setting up in the refrigerator; maybe I should have heated the caramel past 235 degrees? I don't make candy that often, so I am unsure what I can do to change that in the future. Made to enter into our county fair...I'll let you know how that goes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      GREAT RECIPE!!! Thank you for sharing!! I got several compliments, i was told to never by caramel again to make my own from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      GREAT!!! I made 30 turtles and still had enough caramel left over to make at least 30-40 more. But, by that point I was tired. So... I spread a layer of chocolate on a pan 11x15 pan lined with waxed paper - chilling it until set. Then I spread the remainder of the caramel on top, added pecans and covered it with more chocolate. It didn't look as neat as the "turtles" but it tasted just as good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Very good I have tried other recipes and have had terrible failures this caramel isn't so hard and is very easy to work with. My husband loves turtles and he says their much better than anything he ever purchased at a store except for maybe Savannahs candy kitchen if your ever in Savannah try them out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This is a GREAT, foolproof recipe! It comes out flavorful and chewy and takes no time to cook, I think it was 30 minutes TOPS from beginning to end for me. I used butter and my only suggestion would be to maybe cook it to 240 degrees. But I've heard that the right temp depends on the weather and your altitude, so for some 235 may be perfect. This does make a lot of caramel, a full 9x13 pan, so plan accordingly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      We are making these to enter in our county fair. They are scrumptious!! Like another review mentions, however, we had LOTS of leftover caramel. No worries in our house, though... we made a pan of caramel candies (and ate the rest by the spoonfuls!) Yummy! Thanks, Moe, for a great recipe! :-) One last note - be sure to butter the waxed paper you drop your clusters on to make them easier to remove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I gave this recipe five stars for the taste, but I don't understand why it calls for cooking so much caramel. 40 turtles at 1 tsp of caramel each equals less than 1 cup of caramel needed. I ended up with two cups of excess caramel and I put considerably more than 1 tsp of caramel in some of my candies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Great, a man with detures was able to eat my candy it was not tacky. I would have liked the carmel to be more "string like" when you bight into it. I'd recomend using semi sweet or bitter sweet chocolate, they gave the best contrast milk chocolate was not very good with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      My mom says these are better than the ones you buy in expensive candy shops. What more can I say!? =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      Delicious! I did not allow to cool. I poured over the pecans which i had put in mini muffin pan. Then chilled those. Dipped in Chocolate. I had to thin the chocolate with crisco (i know... probably a sin) but otherwise it was way too thick. Wonderful, delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      These are very addicting! The flavor is awesome. It does take a while to make these but the end results is worth it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      These are awesome! Southern at its best! A little bit of work but well worth it! So gooey, chewy and sweet! YUMMY, YUMMY!!! When my daughter asks for turtles this will be the only recipe I will use! Thanks so much Moe Heon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      This is a GREAT recipe! I've made it once last year for Christmas and 2x this year for work. Everyone is still talking about them! I've been given the title "Turtle Girl" cuz they were so memorable. It's well worth the effort, especially if you love turtles, like I do!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2004

      I made these today and they turned out fabulous. I am making them for my office and I hope there will be enough left as my husband and I just love them. They are better than I have ever tasted. Better than the boxes of Turtles you you at a store. Will definitely use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turtles

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1235.5
     
    Calories from Fat 542
    43%
    Total Fat 60.2 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 23.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 504.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 176.8 g
    58%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 143.8 g
    575%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes