Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turtle Tarts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turtle Tarts

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2010

      These turned out so cute...i used the small prepared tarts and they were just perfect...really easy to make..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I have been making these tarts for years. Recipe is the same but I use butter instead of margarine and instead of a chocolate wafer I use a Rosebud. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Wow! Mouth watering little delightfuls these are! You go back for more before you realize you are eating 2 or 3. I tried white chocolate to be different and they are just as tasty! The caramel filling is so easy to make and quite delicious! Love it! I'm glad I came across this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      I made these for a birthday party at work and they were gone in 10 minutes. I guess they liked them! I got lots of requests for the recipe. I used hot fudge and drizzled over the top in place of the chocolate wafers. These will be made for my family during the holidays. I know they will love them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I don't think I can ever make these again... they were so good. I ended up with 48 mini tarts, 24 in pastry and 24 in shortbread cups. Due to dietary restrictions, I put pecans in some, none in others, chocolate on some, and none in others. I ended up with about 1 cup of leftover caramel, which I poured on a cookie sheet, thinking it would harden, it didn't, so it is destined to go into a cake pan on top of a shortbread base and will be topped with chocolate. They were easy to make, and husband REALLY appreciated them. Can't wait to share with the rest of the fam at Christmas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      These are really sweet and delicious! My tip: BE CAREFULL when cooking the mixture. Melt your butter first and dont over boil, this WILL STICK to the bottom and might burn. (Had to throw out first batch!!! snif snif) Chris

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      This is a great recipe. Easy enough to make and delicious! Everyone should give this a try for the holiday season!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      I used recipe 153222 (kittencal Mini Shortbread Tart Shells) for the pastry and we thought it was just perfect. The dough has a touch of sweetness that matches well with the sweet filling without making the whole thing cloyingly sweet. The filling was easy to make and came together quickly, set nicely, and tasted very very good. I drizzled the chocolate on top and forgot to buy pecans but for sure will add those next time. I thought they would be fiddly to make, but the filling was quite easy to work with and it went really fast. They were the first dessert to disappear from a sea of sweet nibbly things. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      Oh my...are these yummy!! Really easy to make and the instructions are easy to follow. I halved the recipe, had no problems; I suggest covering the entire top with chocolate chips to make them really decadent(I was too skimpy with my 1/2 dozen chips on each tart!~~what was I thinking!~~) These are very well received by kids and adults alike. Thanks, chef Pamela!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      These turned out really good! I made them for my mother-in-law's birthday party, and she was thrilled. Next time I will attempt to make my own tart crust, but the store bought ones worked just fine! Cute and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      it was a very good recipe...although it did not make 40 tarts...it only made 15 but maybe i did them wrong....any ways they still taste terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      These.are.SOOOO.Yummy!!!!! I made these for a tea party, and I made then in a mini muffin pan, and a few in a regular size muffin pan. The big ones were a little too much, and the small ones were perfect! a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I made these for a baby shower and they were wonderful. I only got 29 tarts out of the recipe though and I used lots of pecans thinking that would stretch them to 40. Delicious caramel filling and the chocolate on top is a perfect finish. Thanks for this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These were easy to put together; but, we found them so sweet that we could barely eat them. i think the trick is to use mini-tarts, that way you're getting a sweet little treat. mine were in 2" tart shells & it was hard to finish the whole thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      These delights first appeared on my 2006 Christmas cookie trays and remains on my cookie tray list. I made mine with the mini phyllo shells as another reviewer had done and drizzeled with the chocolate. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Wow! I skipped the pecans and they still were great. Next time I will try drizzling the chocolate because the pictures look so great. I used 2 inch tart shells and this made oodles of filling -- I had lots of leftover filling (which wasn't a real problem)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Wonderful! I made mine with mini phyllo shells. Beautiful presentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      These were a little sweet for myself, but a huge hit with friends. They have been begging me to make another batch for them. Very easy to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      I made these while working at a racetrack they went over so well staff would even take them off of trays for guests if we didnt keep them stocked up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      These were wonderful I made them for Thanksgiving and they turned out great, I used the chocolate chips to make the glaze for the top--I love that you can freeze them and since time is getting short(Christmas)I'll prob be using the freezer option to ensure that they are on hand for Christmas!Thanks!PeggyLynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turtle Tarts

    Serving Size: 1 (4926 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 551.7
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    36%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 3.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 346.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    45%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    prepared tart shells

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites