16 Reviews

More like a apple crumb pie a la mode without apples. It would make more sense to call it "turtle" if it had chocolate in it too. It was kind of a hassle to make the crust, but it turned out really crunchy and good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megjo77 August 14, 2007

My teenage daughter thought this would be a good change from a typical birthday cake when we celebrated her last birthday. She never wants a "normal" birthday cake again. I used the same caramel sauce listed by another reviewer the second time I made this and thought it made it even better. We also used Schwans vanilla ice cream the second time and it also improved the cake, so don't skimp on the quality of the ice cream. We will make it again I'm sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shawnamarie January 27, 2007

I made this for my brother's birthday, and I thought it was really good, but a little sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audmonkey August 03, 2008

Made this for a gathering. It was ok for me, I think next time may be I will use better quality Icecream. Love the topping. Also it was a work of art to serve it LOL. I did keep it out for 20 mins before serving to soften it a bit & that helped. added :that I had a pan which I kept for later & it tasted YUMMMMMMMM so may be it gets better with time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefromheart January 18, 2008

I thought this was very tasty, it was very very sweet tho...Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieW November 25, 2007

I made this for my boyfriend's birthday.... he *loves* ice cream. It was a big hit! I used a casserole dish instead to have a thicker "cake".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaysin April 02, 2007

This was great! I made it ahead for Valentine's Day - wonderful. This would be great to have for unexpected company - if you can keep it that long. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Gaye February 17, 2007

This was just fabulous. We loved this. The only thing I might change next time is to cut down the amount of crumb topping and I won't chop the pecans so small. I've been using the leftover crumb topping for oatmeal and with caramel sauce that I like to dip apples in. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sabia February 09, 2007

I followed the directions exactly and I'm sure it turned out like it was supposed to but we just thought it was entirely to sweet. I used Breyers vanilla bean ice cream. There also seemed to be too much of the crumb mixture for the amount of ice cream. With all the fantastic reviews I feel guilty giving only 3 stars but my family really didn't care for it at all. I wouldn't tell someone not to make it, just that they know it is extremely sweet and the texture of the crumbs was a little unappealing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meanie Queenie January 15, 2007

Wonderful. Extremely easy, just sit back and listen to the raves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen November 24, 2006
Turtle Ice Cream Cake