Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turnip Puff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turnip Puff

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2002

      Even turnip haters love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      I first had this delicious turnip puff at my Fathers place,(made by his girlfriend). Both my sister and I have gotten the recipe from her since,(which is the exact recipe as yours,except she only uses 1/4 tsp. baking powder). I have made it several times now,and I think my husband & I enjoy it more than regular mashed turnip now!! I am actually making it right now to go along with our roast beef for supper tonight, so I did a search to compare recipes out of curiosity. Upon seeing your recipe, I did increase my baking powder today to 1 tsp. I have also halved this recipe with great success! As you say this is great to go along with your Christmas or Thanksgiving holiday turkey, or any meal that you enjoy mashed turnip with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      I made this recipe following the directions exactly. It was super easy to throw together. The taste was very turnippy and strong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      I have been making this recipe for years and years and it is still a family favourite. The only difference I make is to add 4 carrots along with the turnip. Makes it slightly sweeter. Anne-Marie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      I'm so glad this was posted. This is a traditional dish my brother and sister in law make at every Thanksgiving and Easter. I lost my recipe that they copied for me (From the Cookbook "the Best of Bridge.") This taste exactly like it. For varation I sometimes replace a couple cups of turnip with carrots and cook together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Entire family loves this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      I was really excited about making this for Thanksgiving, given all the great reviews. Unfortunately, it was almost universally disliked. A little disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      wow this was great--while making turkey dinner i mad a puff and decided to add the filling from a small slice of punkin pie to it to give it a holiday feel-- it was a hit--- this recipe works great as a base for invention try other flavors to "spice" it up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      I make this every special occasion such as I am doing now for Easter dinner. It is a request from my children (now grown) every time. Except for the chopping and peeling I love it. It is the same but I do add a tablespoon of maple syrup to boiling water and only 1 tsp. brown sugar. This way the sweetness is absorbed into turnip as cooking. Tip: Make sure the turnip is well drained otherwise gets mushy. I use panko crumbs on top with a hint of nutmeg and paprika for color with the butter. Even better next day so I make ahead and just warm up and helps keep that day less hectic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      This is a tasty turnip dish. Anyone who likes turnips to begin with will really like this. The turnip flavor is only enhanced by the seasoning of this recipe. I halved the recipe and it turned out great. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      I made this recipe for friends yesterday (Canadian Thanksgiving) - and it was well liked ( I just emailed the recipe to them at their request) - 9 adults, so a good trial.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      Oh my gosh! This is incredibly delicious. Turnips have NEVER tasted so good! Very easy to throw together and easily replaces mashed potatoes in your menu. I do not add extra butter on the topping, just a light dusting of seasoned bread crumbs and sweet paprika. I do not recommend omitting the butter in the body of the dish. I did and found it just wasn't the same. My family loves, loves, loves this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      I halved the recipe and it worked out fine! This would go nicely with a Roast beef or Thanksgiving dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      I find this dish lightens up the turnip flavor. To those who are unaware- use rutabega not the white turnips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      I made it Gluten free and this was easy to make and tasted great. This can easily be made Gluten Free by using GF flour and omitting the breadcrumb topping or using cornmeal and butter for the topping or crushed GF corn flakes and butter. Tastes great either way (I've tried both).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      This is now my favourite way to cook turnip! I was on a mission to find different ways of cooking turnip, and this one wins hands down! Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Hi Tebo I have wanted to try this recipe for ages and finally did - We loved it. Cut it back to half still worked but didn't puff very much - No matter the flavor was GREAT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This is a delicious turnip puff, and easy to make for a crowd! I scaled it 5x to make 30 servings for a dinner we had for some "old folks". It was a huge success, everyone loved it and not a crumb left, people back for seconds!! The flavour and consistancy is wonderful; they each took 1 hour to cook. It would be great as a side for Christmass dinner or any dinner!! Thanks Tebo for a real special one, I can hardly wait to make it for just us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight and it is wonderful! The only thing I changed was the topping...I didn't have time to make breadcrumbs so I used cornflake crumbs and it turned out just fine. This will be made again and again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! My fiancee, who hates turnips, ate this after I told him it was mashed potatos. I probably could have let him go on thinking it was potato, but I rarely miss an opportunity to say "Told you so." Even after I told him, he finished off his helping, as did our 2.5 year old daughter. Definitely a winner! I used butter and egg substitutes to make it almost fat free and it was still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turnip Puff

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 187.1
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    47%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 82.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 305.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites