25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good. Thanks for the aluminum foil idea. Made this so much easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xjust3 November 01, 2010

This is great! I put them in taco holders to cool. Works great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song August 03, 2007

My bf and I recently had tacos this way. It was cheaper to buy a package of 12 soft taco-size corn tortillas than a box of premade taco shells. They fry up nicely and crisp up nicely, as well, although we didn't think about cooling them "teepee style", but just laid them on paper towels. I'm giving this recipe 5 stars b/c I've tried this technique before, and it works great. I've always loved the taste of fried corn tortillas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage May 17, 2007

I've been making these for a couple of months now, but I never got around to photographing them. These were awesome. I will never purchase store bought taco shells again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kween kwuizeen November 13, 2006

OhMyGawd!!! This is IT! I love you!!! Thank you! My hubby will thank you, too, when I make these for him!!! He is mexican-food-obsessed, and I don't need even that much of an excuse to start experimenting with a diferent type of cuisine :oD I have been making my own tortillas for months now, practicing my enchiladas, quesadillas, chimichangas, diferent stuffings, and even made up my own salsa to bake my enchiladas in... but it just didn't occur to me to FRY the tortillas to make them into tacos, and I have been dying to make the man a taco dinner even better than the ones my mom used to make for me :o) THANK YOU AGAIN!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drakes July 03, 2006

This is truly an excellent recipe! This is how I always do my tortillas, way better then premade ones in the store. The only thing I do different is when I start to fry my tortilla, I just throw it in, well not really throw it in, set it in. When it starts to soften, I flip it over and fold it in half and stick my tongs in the shell and just rest the tongs on the side of the skillet. When that sides crisped up, flip it over and stick the tongs in again and rest on edge of skillet, that way I don't have to hold it. you just can't walk away from the stove, don't want no fires or nothing. Another thing I do is once fried I stand on end in a big bowl lined with paper towels. I also have been using coconut oil to fry my tortillas in, it makes them a whole lot less greasy. Thanks a bunch for posting a great recipe Juju Bee.... Update- I also fry flour tortillas the same way

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB May 19, 2006

Thanks so much for posting this. I have been wondering how to do these and it works out wonderfully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Niki May 18, 2006

My mother used to make taco shells this way with excellent results. I completely forgot about this until I started making them. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm October 29, 2005
Turning Corn Tortillas Into Taco Shells