Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turn Your Crock Pot Into a Smokehouse Chicken (Smoked Chicken) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turn Your Crock Pot Into a Smokehouse Chicken (Smoked Chicken)

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2010

      Three words sum up this recipe: TO-DIE-FOR!!!! So good!!! I sprayed the crockpot with cooking spray, put 1 1/2 large onions, sliced, on bottom of the crock, then added the chicken that I had coated well with kosher salt,coarsely ground pepper and McCormick's 'Grill Mates Montreal Chicken Seasoning'. (Rubbed some of the salt & pepper under the skin of the breast and also sprinkled inside the cavity). Used about 1 or 2 T. Worcestershire Sauce 1/4 c. hickory flavored liquid smoke, 1/4 c. water and then squeezed 1/2 a lemon over top and then stuffed it into the cavity. Cooked on LOW for 12 hours. YUM-O!!! Thanks for this wonderful cooking technique ThatBobbieGirl!! It's a keeper. NOTE: This was not overly "smoky" or bland at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      I used six large boneless, skinless chicken breasts that were partially frozen. I poured the 1/4 cup liquid smoke over them as the recipe stated, then I poured about 1/8 cup worcestershire sauce over them. I cooked them on high approximately 3 hours. They were falling apart tender. So simple. ThatBobbieGirl, I thank you for sharing such a simple recipe for a delicious entree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      This worked out well. I added some chopped onion to the bottom of the crockpot and them rubbed some Famous Daves Chicken seasoning along with poultry seasoning on the outside of the chicken as well as the cavity. I let it cook for seven hours and it was too long, next time I will check at six hours, but didn't make much difference to us, we enjoyed this chicken anyway. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Perhaps I should have taken time to read more of the 124 reviews! It wasn't exactly what I envisioned, but we were pleased. I did rub the chicken with salt and pepper as some others advised; and at 8 hours the chicken was falling off the bone. Next time -- I'll pull the skin because too much of the smoked flavor was lost when that was removed. July edition: perhaps someone else in the 124 reviews has already tried this but I've not taken the time to read them all. I tried this with a pork loin and it was wonderful! I did add about 1/4 cup of water because the pork loin was so lean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Very good! The chicken was moist and falling apart. I made gravy with the juice and it was sooo good over mashed potatoes. The only change I would make is to season the chicken a little more...I may try brining it next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      oh, perfect! I actually used (not even quite) a pound of boneless, skinless chicken tenders that I had wanted to cook for shredded chicken, but I wanted to try something new. This was the right choice! I seasoned them with Mrs. Dash for chicken, used one tablespoon plus one teaspoon of liquid smoke, a dash of worcestershire, and a bit of water and had them on low in my mini-crock pot for about two hours. It worked wonderfully, thanks for the great idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Great idea! This was so simple and turned out great! I threw some sliced garlic into the pot, and salted/peppered as some others have said to try. Also a good idea to add onion and 1/2 of a lemon. The whole house smelled like yummy smoked chicken. I used the chicken to make enchilladas (thanks to MizzNezz for that recipe) for lunch today. Thanks Bobbie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      My first recipe ever made from this site and the whole family loved it! After reading reviews I decided to pull the skin from the breast, put two pats of butter and lemon pepper rub underneath. Also put an onion in the cavity with some butter, covered the whole thing with lemon pepper and garlic powder and through a lemon cut up into the pan. Turned out GREAT. I also cooked the last hour in a slow oven to brown. We loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      Make sure the bird is completely dry before you put in the pot, that made the great deal difference. Great dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      Enjoyed every bite! Now that said this is a technique that works well if using most of mamma fishy's suggestions. Started with a small young chicken that was still 90% frozen, after rinsing and drying seconded inside and out with McCormick's "Grill Mates Molasses Bacon". Placed chicken atop a sliced onion and mixed 1 T. Worcestershire Sauce with 1/4 c. hickory flavored liquid smoke and 1/4 cup water and 1/2 a lemon juiced. Cooked on low for 10 hours and sorry no photo as it fell apart coming out of the pot it was so tender. Cooking breast side down is the secret as it kept the breast really moist and tender. Thanks for the post, we will be enjoying again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      I made this recipe many times but find the chicken tastes better the next day cold. Seems like the flavor of the smoke gets stronger when cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      Super easy to do, I used a rosemary garlic rub, but I think a cajun rub would be even better. I put it in the crock pot in the morning and had dinner waiting when we got home after a long day. Served with red new potatoes and roasted corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      I tried. Even with all the extra seasonings and I did a lot, this chicken was dry & bland for me. There was a decent amount of juice and it smelled pretty good, but not sure why it was dry. I always use the same chicken and have never had a problem with this brand being dry so it leads me to believe it somehow had the juices sucked out of it. I had to salvage it by putting it on sandwiches using a lot of toppings to offset the dryness of the chicken. Guess it works for some and not for others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      I only had about an 1/8 cup of liquid smoke and then added 1/8 cup of water. We thought that was perfect. It does make the house smell good while cooking. I seasoned my chicken with a lot of seasoning and thought the smoke gave it just a bit of smoke taste. I cooked mine on high for four hours and it was perfect. We all enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      I can't believe I have not written a review for this recipe before now. Beyond easy to make-comes out perfect every time. I do lightly salt the chicken as well as dust with granulated garlic. I use this "smoked" chicken recipe all winter long for whole meal salads as well as paninis. It's a rockin' recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I made this for my husband and he thought it was really good in a sandwich! I'm a vegetarian - I just cook the stuff! :) I seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Lawry's seasoned salt. Next time they are on sale I may do chicken breasts (with skin and bones, not skinless) because it would give more meat for the effort. For the people who said it smelled up the house - I could smell the cooking a little, but no more so than any crock pot recipe. I think your crock pot may not seal correctly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      My husband said this was good. Next time I'll add more seasonings, thanks for a different recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      So glad I found this recipe! Very simple and exactly the result I was looking for. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I read all the other reviews, since a few said it was bland, I added onion to the bottom of the pot and seasoning. The bird is very moist, but bland. Would not do this again. I would opt for more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This was great! The family loved it! DH said, "Don't lose that receipe!" I did follow the advise of others...added water and spices that we liked. I also didn't have enough liquid smoke so I just used what I had on hand. It was even better the next day!! Thanks so much for this receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turn Your Crock Pot Into a Smokehouse Chicken (Smoked Chicken)

    Serving Size: 1 (1336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2885.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1905
    66%
    Total Fat 211.7 g
    325%
    Saturated Fat 60.5 g
    302%
    Cholesterol 975.2 mg
    325%
    Sodium 908.4 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 228.9 g
    457%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites