Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turmeric Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turmeric Rice

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2003

      This rice has wonderful flavor. I ended up using jasmine rice instead of basmati... it was an accident honestly hehe but it didnt hurt at all; it was delicious. Like dale, I did not add any extra butter at the end. I will be making this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      My husband is very particular about the meals that he eats. He said this rice was an excellent combination of flavors and was delicious!! We served this as a side dish to Costa Rican Jalapeno Pepper Steak, Costa Rican Jalapeno Pepper Steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      I liked the flavor combination of this rice. The taste of the bay leaf was fairly dominant. Next time I'll try using half of a bay leaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This was great, simple and easy to make. I was out of chicken broth and just used water, which worked out fine; plus I was looking for a light rice dish that wouldn't be competing with the chicken vindaloo that I was making. I also added broccoli florets so it would cook with the rice and it worked out well. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      Delicious rice dish! I didn't have any basmati so just used regular long grain rice. Also I didn't add any extra butter at the end. I really enjoyed this and it makes a great side dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      Flavor was good but not great. The turmeric was really strong. Color was fine and the overall taste was just okay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      This was a very fast and easy rice dish that required very little prep. The taste of the turmeric is very pronounced. DH thought the rice was just a little on the dry side. I followed instructions except for subbing veggie broth for chicken broth. Served alongside Urmila's Baked Potato and Eggplant Curry 267565. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Made this tonight to accompany a curry dish. Delicious! I left out the thyme and used FRESH grated turmeric. If you can get your hands on the fresh stuff, do it. The flavor is so much better. Just make sure don't turn your whole kitchen (or yourself) yellow in the process :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I loved this rice! But, I have to admit that I deviated from the given recipe in a significant way. While it called out 1 Tablespoon of turmeric, I used only 1/2 of a teaspoon (since I know that turmeric is rather strong)! I will be making this many more times though, and am going to increase the turmeric to see what amount I like best. I also think that the addition of the extra butter at the end helped to make the dish. Thanks a thousand times for this wonderful keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      I thought this was ok. I have to agree with previous posts that 1 tablespoon of turmeric was way too much (and I LOVE turmeric). I also thought this was missing something else... I can't quite put my finger on it, but I'll play around with this recipe to see if I can figure it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Followed the recipe but I found it to bland for our taste buds. If you are used to lots of spices and herbs this may seem low key on the pallet. I will try to make again adding lots of fresh chopped cilantro and maybe a dash of paprika or chili powder to oompf the taste a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This was fantastic and even easier than similar recipes I have found on 'zaar. The only change I made was to double the garlic and I used low sodium chicken broth - next time I would like to try vegetable stock instead. I served this with broccoli and grilled curried chicken. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      This was a good rice dish but the whole tablespoon of turmeric was too much for our taste. I'll make it again but I'll cut the turmeric by half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This is a very simple recipe, doesn't need very many ingredients, and is fantastic. We ate with roast chicken seasoned with herbes de provence and with roasted asparagus. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I love this rice! First time I ever used turmeric, so I tried just 1/2 T instead of a full T. Really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Yummy! I used this recipe in the rice cooker and I had wonderful results. I followed the recipe as written however I added the whole butter at the start and added half a cup more of chicken broth. While it was cooking the aroma filled the house, the rice was so fluffy and flavoursome. Thank you chia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Easy - exotic - delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      wow, wow, We loved this rice, so much, we cant stop thinking about it, we crave it all the time. Try it and double the recipe, it was not enough!!! we all wanted more!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      Made tonight as part of our "LiveStrong...A Taste of Yellow" dinner and served with Golden Glazed Chicken. This was a tasty new way to prepare rice. I did cut the turmeric down to a 1/2 tsp, having been over-turmericed in the past, and to me the flavor was perfect with this amount. I didn't have any bay leaves on hand but otherwise cooked it as written. Didn't know what DH would think of it but he said he'd like to have it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Best Yellow Rice Ever. I served it with 15-Minute No Fry Chicken Enchiladas, honest!.(a must try) I teach a cooking class at the University here. It is a program for learning in retirement. They will never "BUY YELLOW RICE " again. Thanks for the recipe. I'm glad to be on your team and ready for the next challenge! :-) Ingrid

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turmeric Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.4
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    27%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 335.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites