25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

NOTE to the posting chef Carole Reu: your list of ingredients is missing the garlic! I added about 3 cloves, minced. Please correct your recipe. This was very delicious. I made it with my DIL and subbed veggie broth cause she is vegetarian. It tasted better after a day or two when the flavors mingled. Next time I might add some lamb and will also garnish with a good yogurt. It's a keeper...thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina May 04, 2011

I added 4 minced garlic cloves. Toasted sourdough was great for dipping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 21, 2015

I make this all the time with chicken or vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I don't even like lentils, but in this soup they taste good. Everyone I've ever served it to has raved about it. One time I made it with buckwheat groats instead of bulgur because that's what I had. Not as good, but still tasty! This is also an excellent backpacking meal if you dehydrate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanSgt August 14, 2013

I love this recipe and I make it all the time. Only change I make is Vegetable broth instead of beef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smid April 01, 2012

Deeelicious!!! I used barley instead of bulgur (didn't have any) and had to add some extra broth. Used McKays chicken seasoning instead of beef. Added some garlic. Yum!! Definitely will make again. Thank you for sharing! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins January 02, 2012

Healthy and hearty soup. I reduced the olive oil to cut down on calories, and I used chicken broth instead of beef. Hubby and I are very happy with the result, though I must admit that I added some cumin to my bowl (cumin+lentils=perfect). I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YoungEngineer May 31, 2010

This is one of the best soups I have ever had, much less cooked. I substituted chicken stock for beef broth and was a bit heavy handed with the olive oil. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rdshear May 24, 2010

Very tasty recipe with a wonderful aroma. I used Better than Bouillon vegetable broth (used almost 8 cups total and let simmer longer at the end) and swapped the bulgar for barley. Used 3 cloves of minced garlic and added a generous 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. Will definitely be making this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC April 12, 2010

Thank you Carol for a great recipe. As with the other reviewers I substituted vegetable broth and used 3 cloves of garlic crushed. This is the first time I've cooked anything with Bulgur and was pleasantly surprised by the flavor and texture. So for those who haven't tried it before-go ahead-I bet you like it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andy & Paula February 23, 2010
Turkish Spinach and Lentil Soup