Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkish Spinach and Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkish Spinach and Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2011

      NOTE to the posting chef Carole Reu: your list of ingredients is missing the garlic! I added about 3 cloves, minced. Please correct your recipe. This was very delicious. I made it with my DIL and subbed veggie broth cause she is vegetarian. It tasted better after a day or two when the flavors mingled. Next time I might add some lamb and will also garnish with a good yogurt. It's a keeper...thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      I make this all the time with chicken or vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I don't even like lentils, but in this soup they taste good. Everyone I've ever served it to has raved about it. One time I made it with buckwheat groats instead of bulgur because that's what I had. Not as good, but still tasty! This is also an excellent backpacking meal if you dehydrate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

    • on April 01, 2012

      I love this recipe and I make it all the time. Only change I make is Vegetable broth instead of beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Deeelicious!!! I used barley instead of bulgur (didn't have any) and had to add some extra broth. Used McKays chicken seasoning instead of beef. Added some garlic. Yum!! Definitely will make again. Thank you for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Healthy and hearty soup. I reduced the olive oil to cut down on calories, and I used chicken broth instead of beef. Hubby and I are very happy with the result, though I must admit that I added some cumin to my bowl (cumin+lentils=perfect). I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This is one of the best soups I have ever had, much less cooked. I substituted chicken stock for beef broth and was a bit heavy handed with the olive oil. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Very tasty recipe with a wonderful aroma. I used Better than Bouillon vegetable broth (used almost 8 cups total and let simmer longer at the end) and swapped the bulgar for barley. Used 3 cloves of minced garlic and added a generous 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. Will definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Thank you Carol for a great recipe. As with the other reviewers I substituted vegetable broth and used 3 cloves of garlic crushed. This is the first time I've cooked anything with Bulgur and was pleasantly surprised by the flavor and texture. So for those who haven't tried it before-go ahead-I bet you like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Awesome! We had to substitute vegetable broth, wild rice for bulgur and no tomatoe paste due to our "21 day cleanse" requirements - BF added crushed red peppers - turned out perfect! (I thought it was a tad too spicy - will reduce the cayenne to 1/8 teaspoon next time, but I'm very sensitive to spice) Great recipe! Send us more!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This is one of the most delicious soups I've ever had! I did a few minor adjustments here and there, but the basic recipe. I've saved this one. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      This was my first time making a soup with lentils. I was intrigued with the burghul and excited to try it. It was easy to make. I added sliced carrots and mushrooms to the broth mixture and red, yellow, and orange peppers to the onion mixure to get more veggies in. Love the flavor! Used 2 cloves garlic as most other users. So healthy and tasty!!! Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      this is the best soup ever! love it love it love it. I made a couple of subs this time, vegetable stock instead of beef, tinned tomatoes instead of fresh and a handful of couscous instead of bulghar. Still lovely though, thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Love Zaar for helping me find these great recipes. Believe it or not we had three bags of bulgur and I was searching for ways to use it. This is not only a great soup (and good use for bulgur) it is very nutritious! Thanks so much for posting. PS you don't mention garlic in the ingredients listing so I guessed about 2 cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Hot Darn that was some good Soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      I doubled the recipe this first time and I am so glad It is relatively easy and delicious! I have a freezer full for future cold evenings. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Very nice and tasty soup.Perfect for cold winter. I have used frozen spinach and vegetarian broth. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I had spinach and I don't like it raw. I wanted to make a soup and had no white beans...I did have lentils. So I made this not at all excited. But, I should have been. The soup was delicious. It does need to be salted heavily though. My kids looked at it and said they wouldn't eat it so they were allowed to dip their bread in it and all of them decided to eat it. the most exciting part is I made the soup yesterday and had the leftovers today...and they were even better. The tastes all became so deep with the rosemary. I did make this with chicken broth but since there are so many flavors I thought the broth taste would get lost. Super recipe, doesn't take much time and a beautiful soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Thought I would try this soup since I had all ingredients on hand to make it and ...... boy, am I glad I did! Wonderful flavor, different from the lentil soup I'm used to. The addition of spinach and bulgur really "bulk up" this soup. Filling, nutritious and very easy to make. You didn't specify the amount of garlic so I used 3 fat cloves sliced very thin. The soup has an odd aroma (must be the bulgur) but you forget all about that once you taste it. So much fun finding a tasty new way to fix an old stand by (lentils). Thanks for posting Carole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      As a self described soup freak, let me say, YUMMY!! This was such a different lentil soup than I am used to. The cayenne gave it such an afterthought of a kick, GREAT! I made this vegetarian for my daugther & me and had my non lentil/onion/veggie/soup eating hubby try it. He came back "don't tell me what's in it, just give me another bowl!" My dad who hates lentils, bowl and a half! I made as written except used canned chopped tomatoes, dried parsley and veggie broth instead of beef. This will be a repeat soup in my house. I will post a photo tomarrow when I reheat for lunch! Thanks Carole!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkish Spinach and Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.7
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    31%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 369.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 10.7 g
    42%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites