Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkish Red Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkish Red Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-74 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2007

      No oil? That's always one omission that leaves me wondering what something's going to taste like...I shouldn't have worried. This soup is something close to heavenly...I didn't know something so low in fat could taste so wonderful! This is more than soup--it's a revelation. Thanks for sharing the wonderful recipe, Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      I thought this soup was bland, I even sauteed some garlic and onion before cooking. I added a bunch of pepper and it tasted all right afterward.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      A bit bland.. I added red chilies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      delicious, fast, easy and healthy. i made this unplanned today as when i read the recipe and saw the photo i decided to give it a try. i had to make two substitutions so i am not sure how that changed the finish product. i had no broth so i made my own with chicken boullion and no white potatoes so used sweet potatoes. the taste was outstanding. the process being so simple and quick was a plus. this soup tastes as good if not better than other lentil soups that i have made that took soooo much longer and much more ingredients. the taste was very smooth and flavorful. i will make this again for sure. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Well, I guess I had better review this since I have made it about a dozen times in the past three or four months. Almost every weekend my husband asks me to make this. I have occasionally played with the recipe although it is delicious as is. I have added a little shredded carrots or parsnips and have added garlic. I have used chicken bouillon cubes and water instead of veggie broth. When I use the bouillon cubes I don't add salt. I have never had to puree or use the blender. We like it a little lumpy. I have caught my self grabbing a spoon and eating it cold out of the fridge. Love it, love it love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      This was fantastic! I added a little carrot, didn't puree it at all, then added the lemon juice and some flat-leaf parsley when I served it. The lemon really is great in this. I wanted to photograph it, but I was on my second bowl before I remembered. Maybe next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      This was a wonderful tasting soup! I used my own chicken broth rather than store bought vegetable broth...but otherwise I followed this recipe to the t. Thank you for posting this as it will be a staple through this winter season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I told you I'd get to this one! :) Why didn't I make this ages ago?! It came together in no time. So easy! I used chicken broth insead of vegetable b/c that was what I had on hand, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I blended it with a stick hand blender and left just a few chunks for texture. YUM! I'm having the leftovers today for lunch. Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      Very quick and delicious soup. After reading the reviews, I added two grated garlic cloves to the cooking soup. I used my blender stick in the pot to blend all but the cup of soup I'd removed, saving blender clean up. All of us who like red lentils loved the soup. the two who are still less than enthusiastic about red lentils dipped bread in the soup gingerly and ate their bread lightly flavored in soup ;). I served this with toasted pita and baked yams for a cold fall evening meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      Quick, easy and delicious. I used fat free beef boullion because I didn't have the vegetable boullion. Will make it often this winter. Rachel Schrote

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      I can`t believe how easy, quick, healthy and hearty this soup is. John couldn`t wait for me to blend it so we had it nice thick and chunky. Hats off to you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      This soup is simple and good .. Before I added the salt I pureed the soup for my 8 month old baby and he loved it! Afterwards, I added some chicken boullion cubes (for us) because I felt it was lacking something ... thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      This is so simple to make, as well as healthy and delicious! I used one baking potato, so I probably had more than 1/2 cup. When I came to taste the soup just before pureeing I felt that there was a little something missing, even though the simple flavours were great. So I added just one clove of garlic and let it simmer for a further five minutes and I think that made the soup just right for me. Pureeing most of it makes it lovely and creamy, but there is just enough texture from the cup that didn't get pureed. Thanks for sharing, I will be making this often! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      I liked the ease of making this soup. I looked at the very simple list of ingredients, and thought the soup would be lacking something. But it wasn't. Sometimes a whole bunch of seasonings hide the taste of the simple ingredients, and for this recipe, nothing more is needed than what is called for. I didn't even add any salt! I did have about twice as many potatoes, as that was just how large my potato was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkish Red Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.1
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    49%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 632.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites