Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkish Red Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkish Red Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2008

      mmm...! comfort food! started out by saute'ing the veggies before adding the lentils and chicken stock; I did include a chopped carrot and one garlic clove. I used 2 paprikas - smoked and hot Hungarian which gave it a nice warm bite to it - all in all a nice way to warm up on a cold day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Very basic lentil soup. Tasted mostly of the stock used to make it. Wouldn't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This was pleasant. You dont need to blend if you cook it long enough. Definitely needs seasonings like cumin, coriander, garlic, etc. It's good as a palette for further soup ideas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      This was pretty good. I made it ahead of time and plan to have it for lunches throughout the week. Simple to make, I made a double batch. I thought it was a tad bit salty, but that could just be my preference. I might make this again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      We LOVED this soup! I couldn't find any red lentils (used green/brown?) so the presentation wasn't the greatest but the taste was wonderful. Didn't have any vegetable stock so used 2 beef bouillon cubes + 4 cups water. Don't know if they sell paprika around here so used non-spicy chili powder and lots of it. Also added some cumin. Will double recipe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This was wonderful! Left out the salt, but followed the recipe otherwise. Served with crusty whole grain bread. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I found this soup to be a tad bland for my taste so I spruced it up with some garlic and extra onions (I used red onions too!). I also used extra potatoes so the soup was a bit chunkier for my husband. GREAT easy, delicious soup for a weekday meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      My family and I are loving this soup. My 12 yr. old son goes back for 2nds and thirds, and my daughter that doesn't like most of what I make will eat a few bites of this soup. I have to at least double this recipe, and I add a little more potato, a little more paprika, and a tablespoon or so of trans fat free vegetable margarine, and it is so rich tasting and comforting. I add some bread and fruit on the side for our completed dinner. Thank you for this great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      this recipes' real strength is in it's simplicity as a great base recipe. Granted I didn't make it to the letter but I think the changes took it to a new level of yumminess and complexity. I used pumpkin instead of potato, added 2 sticks of celery, one garlic clove and 2 bay leaves. After blending it I added some tabasco (hot pepper sauce) which gave it an awesome flavour and a big dash of lemon juice. My husband loved it and we ate the 4 serves between two. Was delicious. Want to put another pot on right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I've made this three times now and it just mysteriously vanishes over night. I've made it in the crock pot at bed time and the pot is turned off and the soup is gone! Aliens! That's it. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Can't believe have missed this one to date! Looks to be simple and am sure will be GREAT! LOW low fat, healthy for me! Looks to be a very yummy recipe! NOTE TO SELF: Put it on the queue!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I live in Istanbul, Turkey and they just love Lentil Soup here. This recipe is very good and so easy. The soup had a great taste. I skipped the potatoes and next time I am going to add some more lentils to make the soup a little thicker. Also in Turkey they always give a lemon wedge to squeeze into the soup. Try it, it really brings out the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Really Good! Did add one clove of garlic and a small onion

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Lovely, easy, healthy soup recipe. Next time I'll add some of the spices suggested by other reviewers. Will definitely be a comfort food for me all winter long. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Very easy, and good as the recipe is. I sauteed the onions in some oil and then added the potatoes (diced but unpeeled) before adding the other ingredients. I also added 1 tsp. garlic powder, a pinch of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon which is nice if you enjoy those spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      Complete comfort food in just over 30 minutes. What more could you want on a chilly afternoon? I thought about making some of the many variations suggested in the reviews, but decided to be faithful to what was written here -- plus a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and only a 1/2 teaspoon salt. Delicious simplicity. Made and thoroughly enjoyed for Pick a Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      A simple soup thats filling and so quick n easy to prepare...whats not to love! Reviewed for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Truly outstanding! So simple to make and healthy to boot. I don't know why I didn't rate this befor, because I have made it a number of times. This time, I couldn't find my printed copy and had to find it again and realized I hadn't reviewed it. I love the simplicity and it is wonderful t0 plop all ingredients into one pot and you are done. (This leaves time for some more complicated dishes.) Love the tecnique of blending to give the soup a smooth richness. I've also toyed with it using what I had on hand (once brown lentils)and sometimes spicing it up a tad as mentioned in earlier posts. Thanks much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I used chicken stock, that's all I had. This soup has much more flavour than I expected. So easy to make. Excellent flavour. Leftovers are even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      So comforting and tasty. I love the simplicity and flavor combo. I make this all the time, its fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkish Red Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.1
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    49%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 632.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites