76 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe hardly needs another positive review, but I have to say that I was really surprised by how good this was! It really couldn't be any easier to make, and it costs practically nothing. The second time I made this (in the space of 2 days!) I used smoked paprika instead of regular...it was a nice variation. Also, I didn't blend it the 2nd time around and it was still pretty smooth. Thanks so much for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie April 26, 2010

Fabulous. So easy to prepare and so tasty. Sophisticated taste from a simple recipe. Big bang for your buck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afula7734 February 04, 2010

This was much more flavorful than I had thought it would be with such simple ingredients! I also used chicken stock (4c water, w 4 tsp chicken stock base). I didn't add any salt as the stock made it salty. I enjoyed mine with a few fresh tortillas. I think pita bread or naan would be excellent with it. Thanks for a yummy, healthy, super easy, budget friendly recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Cavanar January 24, 2010

This recipe is very adapatable. I didn't have any vegetable stock so instead i used 2 chicken bullion cubes and 8 cups of water. 1 onion, 2 potatos, some garlic and i added a tbsp of cumin and a pinch of coriander. It came out amazing and was very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McGeezer December 27, 2009

VERY easy and very delicious! I didn't have vegetable broth, so used chicken stock for the liquid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 November 16, 2009

I really enjoyed this.Haven't changed a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia September 27, 2009

Pretty good! I added more potatoes & onion - also, added a little crushed garlic. I don't know if i'd blend it next time - thinking a chunky texture would be best suited for this. Very, very easy and quick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*sugar n' spice* August 18, 2009

OK. Even pretty good. But I would not blend it at all - it strips away all the good texture. Leaving it chunky with big bits of potatoes and onions and lentils would be much better. 3 stars blended, 4 stars unblended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ulysses August 11, 2009

This was fabulous ...though I did make some changes: 1) I doubled the recipe 2) Added the juice of 1 lemon 3) Added about 2 T of cumin powder 4) pureed about 4 cups in the blender 5) Used a little less stock Was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stealthy_armadillo August 10, 2009

doubled the recipe and added 2 cloves of garlic and some cumin amd cayenne pepper for spice. AMAZING recipe. add some lemon at the end! ps: i used organic red lentils, i find they just taste better and better for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roccobertuzzi July 04, 2009
Turkish Red Lentil Soup