76 Reviews

Oh my stars. I am SO purging all my other red lentil soup recipes from my mind; as I have found THE ONE! I had been trying to emulate my favorite Turkish restaurant's soup for so long and to no avail, trying all these complex methods and spice blends...who woulda thought it was just salt and paprika?! This is it! I LOVE this with a great crusty bread, and a traditional Turkish meze like piyaz and/or sigara bourek. The only things I did different was the addition of carrot, sea salt instead of table salt, and I whizzed the whole pot in my blender as I like it entirely pureed. Wouldn't change a thing otherwise, this will be a staple from now on! Thanks so much for posting this, I am one happy red lentil lover!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule January 31, 2013

Needed some extras like cumin and garlic, but a great base recipe. Will be making again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy November 21, 2012

Simple, fast and tasty. Just used the immersion blender, sparingly, to keep a few "chunks". Served with salad and crusty bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
more time momma October 09, 2012

I've been making this for about a year now and had forgotten to review it. It's perfect! And so, so easy for weeknight food. And very filling. Don't forget some bread to dip in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain July 17, 2012

Great base! You can take this soup in a lot of directions. Plenty of inspiration from the other comments already made on this recipe, but where this really shines is in its flexibility. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdowswell April 18, 2012

I doubled this recipe and so glad I did. Like all the other reviews it is simple but delicious. I sauteed onion and carrots in a bit of oil then added the paprika. I used rice instead of potato like a handful? Then perhaps another 1-2 cups of broth. It was perfect. Squeezed some lemon in at the end as pr advice from others and that makes quite a difference. Who wouldn't love this??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen January 21, 2012

I'm a fan of dishes that are easy to make, and this fits the bill! However, I did skip the blending step at the end. If I ever make it for company, I'll blend, but for the two of us the less fuss the better. Per others' recommendations, I added cumin & garlic. Forgot to add red pepper flakes, so I used Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce to taste before serving. Nom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish October 14, 2011

This is so simple and so good. With minimal effort you get a wonderful soup. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada August 24, 2011
Turkish Red Lentil Soup