Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkish Red Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkish Red Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      This was much more flavorful than I had thought it would be with such simple ingredients! I also used chicken stock (4c water, w 4 tsp chicken stock base). I didn't add any salt as the stock made it salty. I enjoyed mine with a few fresh tortillas. I think pita bread or naan would be excellent with it. Thanks for a yummy, healthy, super easy, budget friendly recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This recipe is very adapatable. I didn't have any vegetable stock so instead i used 2 chicken bullion cubes and 8 cups of water. 1 onion, 2 potatos, some garlic and i added a tbsp of cumin and a pinch of coriander. It came out amazing and was very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      VERY easy and very delicious! I didn't have vegetable broth, so used chicken stock for the liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I really enjoyed this.Haven't changed a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Pretty good! I added more potatoes & onion - also, added a little crushed garlic. I don't know if i'd blend it next time - thinking a chunky texture would be best suited for this. Very, very easy and quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      OK. Even pretty good. But I would not blend it at all - it strips away all the good texture. Leaving it chunky with big bits of potatoes and onions and lentils would be much better. 3 stars blended, 4 stars unblended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      This was fabulous ...though I did make some changes: 1) I doubled the recipe 2) Added the juice of 1 lemon 3) Added about 2 T of cumin powder 4) pureed about 4 cups in the blender 5) Used a little less stock Was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      doubled the recipe and added 2 cloves of garlic and some cumin amd cayenne pepper for spice. AMAZING recipe. add some lemon at the end! ps: i used organic red lentils, i find they just taste better and better for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      This was delicious, my husband and I loved it! The only thing I did different was use regular lentils as I didn't have any red lentils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This was great just like we had in Turkey! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Very tasty and easy soup! I used a potato masher instead of blender to retain some texture. I would use a little less salt next time around, and maybe add a little bit of water to thin it out some. Also I'd make a double batch because it is so tasty! It is really a great, comforting lentil soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Two thumbs up! I enjoyed this as is (adding just a touch of red pepper flakes and lemon juice). My husband added garlic and chili powder. Either way, it was delicious. Reminds me of a cross between potato soup and split pea soup. It was also very easy to make--a big plus. We'll definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Blender made the potato glutinous. This was OK but I have made better red lentil soups before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Used a whole onion, left the skin on the potato, used chicken broth instead of vege, and added Tabasco when served. Did not use cover while simmering. Used my submersion blender at the end of cooking instead of transferring to blender. This is a healthy soup and extremely easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This is a win in my book, as the picky one, who professes to hate lentils, liked this - probably because he did not recognize them! I will probably add a little more paprika next time, but all in all, this is a winner. Easy to make and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Sometimes the simple and direct things taste the best. This soup is one of these things. I followed the recipe with the exception of the blending at the end (I like the chunky texture). This is very simple and direct, you reap a great reward for your minimal efforts. I will absolutely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      This soup is great. It tastes exactly like the one I had on a holiday in Turkey. Thank you so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Amazing!!!! Would give 10 stars. Made this recipe as is except used brown lentils and 1 chicken bullion cube (what I had). So easy. 1 pot meal. Only took about 45 minutes to cook. Would double or triple the recipe in the future and would try freezing. Made on a snow day. Really great. Next time, if use chicken bullion, don't need the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

    • on December 02, 2008

      I've made this a few times, and it's always a hit. Someone unhappiy pointed out that this is a "very basic lentil soup," but that is part of what makes this recipe so wonderful! I have made a few little modifications. I use vidalia onion as my "mild onion", and I put in a little extra. I also add in 1 finely chopped shallot. To make the soup thicker, I use a little extra potato. I also blend it with an immersion blender, which makes clean-up easier and makes the soup very smooth and beautiful. Serve with ciabatta bread for dipping... mmmmmmmm..... This soup is very simple, inexpensive, and impossibly easy to make... and the end result is DELICIOUS! If you want to eat healthy, this is the way to do it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkish Red Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.1
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    49%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 632.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites