76 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I live in Turkey and this soup is often served for breakfast! Turks usually serve it with a lemon wedge or two, which you squeeze into the soup just before eating, and a dash of red pepper flakes, (or a lot - depending on your taste). The lemon adds one more layer of flavour and gives it real "zing"! For those who feel something's missing-try it! I made this last night and followed the recipe exactly, except for a little more paprika, and I added a red pepper. Yummy!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinklepurr October 08, 2006

Oh Toni, slurp, slurp! The absolute simplicity of this lovely, aromatic soup is simply awesome! Here is what I did... I did the prep work (oh so minimal!) last night, and my DH and I had the soup, exactly as you posted, this afternoon, for lunch with some lightly toasted pita bread, Kalamata olives, and pepperocini (on the side). Simply fabulous! There were only two of us for lunch, so for my family dinner this evening, I decided to tweak the soup to make it a more substantial meal, standing on its own. OMG, heaven! I added about 1/2 pound of cubed butternut squash, more garlic, cumin, black pepper, two red bell peppers, a lot of HOT Hungarian paprika (to suit our warped spicy taste buds), some diced shallots, about 1/2 cup cilantro, and one entire medium red onion. I re-pureed all but about 3 cups, and then lightly re-heated. I then garnished it with a dollop of sour cream, a sprinkle of fresh cilantro, and served it with a simple light salad and crusty bread and butter. To die for! Heaven! Nobody in this family likes lentils, red bell pepper, or butternut squash, lol, period. They never knew what hit them! They ate this stuff up like there was no more tomorrow, not even knowing they were eating lentils, etc. This is such a keeper, such a fantastic Autumn soup. I think that I will serve this fantastic soup as one of my starters for our big Thanksgiving feast! Thank you so much for such a lovely, simple, scrumptious soup, as is...or dressed up!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crabzilla November 05, 2005

My family really enjoyed this soup. I doubled the recipe. Just a few tips... 1. I Sauteed the onions with butter prior to adding it to the stock. 2. I added 2 T of Cumin and chopped carrots as others suggested.
I plan on tripling the recipe next time

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkroqsk8rchic January 30, 2011

We had this for lunch today as the weather has gotten very cold and this hit the spot. I did add 2 diced carrots and, as suggested by other reviews, cumin and garlic powder. Just to pep it up a little I added a small amount of cayenne pepper. I didn't have any vegetable stock so used chicken broth as suggested by another reviewer. My DH loved it even though he usually turns his nose up at Lentils. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM December 05, 2009

Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great....just like my turkish mother in law's. If you reheat it later it is often a bit too thick so I find that I need to add more water when I reheat it. Thanks for this wonderful, easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeytin December 04, 2009

Excellent! This was my 'chicken soup' while I lived in Turkey. Even now, when I get sick I crave this. A few weeks ago, I tried this recipe-and it was FAB. I, in turkish-style, add the crushed red pepper to spice it up (and clear the sinuses) and squeeze a wedge of lemon into it. I also used my handmixer to do the job, only problem was some splashes (insert into soup-then turn on). Oops. End result was just what the doctor ordered!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IsisShuru February 22, 2007

I have been making Arabic lentil soup (adas) for years, and finally decided to make it the Turkish way tonight. I added a chopped (peeled) tomato and a little bit of cumin, used water instead of broth, and increased the paprika like others had recommended. It is SO good. My husband loved it too, so I plan on making it this way from now on, as soon as I get an immersion blender!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glo April 05, 2015

I love lentil soup!!! I think it's such a staple to have in the house specially winter but also great anytime of year! Excellent recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
white_tiger_2579 March 12, 2015

We enjoy this soup in Turkey. I was excited to make it here in the USA. I added a carrot/batch and doubled the recipe. I also sauteed the onions and carrots in a small amount of olive oil in the pan I used to make the soup before adding the other ingredients. It made them well cooks and increased their flavor before cooking with everything else and also made it easy to puree once everything was cooked. I will definitely be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmr1120 November 11, 2013

I "doctored" this soup by replacing regular paprika with Spanish smoked paprika and garnished<br/>the soup with fresh flat leaf parsley; lemon wedges on the side per suggestion of another reviewer. Prepared using a crock pot on LOW for 2-3 to get the lentils softened then another 3-4 hours on LOW. Made for Welcome to Turkey/NA*ME forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 09, 2013
Turkish Red Lentil Soup