Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkish Meatballs (Kofta) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkish Meatballs (Kofta)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2011

      We just got back from England where we had these meatballs in a Turkish restaurant. I loved them and couldn't wait to get back home so I could try to make them myself. These are every bit as good as the ones we ate while we were away. I cooked mine on a charcoal grill and that added another flavor dimension.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      these are really good and a nice change from the usual. i made these into patties and served them in pitas with tzatziki sauce. i served them with baked french fries which i seasoned with cumin. nice week night dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      I lived in Turkey for several years and this recipe comes as close to the best koftes I ever had there. They are very good grilled and served with other meats (chicken kebabs, lamb chops) as part of a "mixed grill" along with the yogurt/cucumber/garlic sauces, a shepherd's salad (tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, olives with lemon/olive oil dressing) and some raki (like ouzo) for good measure. These are always a huge hit in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      These are incredible. I have been using this recipe since I found it on Recipezaar in 2004. The recipe works with all lamb, a combo of lamb and beef, and I have even used ground bison! The balance of flavors is absolutely perfect - please try them as written without subs at least once. I occasionally sub 1/2 cup panko for the fresh breadcrumbs if I don't have bread on hand. I get raves every time I serve these. We grill them when possible and usually serve them with cucumber yogurt sauce and greek style roasted potatoes, or Turkish bread. Add a greek salad and you have a Mediterranean feast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      We call this "Köfte" in Turkish but never "Kofta".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      These were delicious! We've had these in Turkey several times. I didn't have any lamb, so I used 80% lean ground beef instead. These were a huge hit with my family and our company! Thanks so much for sharing! I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

    • on September 19, 2012

      Just back from turkey.. Fell in love with these.. Your recipe is perfect.. Did some with fresh mint amd yummy too.. Thanku makes me feel back there

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      Delicious. I paired this with Spiced Couscous for a great meal. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

    • on June 19, 2009

      Delicious! I used fresh dill instead of dried mint as one of the other reviewers suggested. I didn't put in allspice. After I browned the kefta, I minced some garlic and onions, sauteed them with hot sauce, salt, pepper, chili flakes and tomatos and boiled and then simmered with a bit of water. Delish! My husband finished the whole plate (a sure sign that it's a winner!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Lovely combination of flavours...DH absolutely looved them..thnk u for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Excellent I used beef instead of lamb. The taste is terrific and the mixture holds on so well. The idea of putting the meat in a food processor is genius!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      These were absolutely fantastic! Will definitely be making these again and again - THanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      These were fast and easy. I liked the flavours which were subtle and fresh! I didnt have any fresh bread so used dried bread crumbs without any problems. I halved the recipe and made little meatballs. (I think I got about 12.) Will definately be making again. Great recipe. Thanks Jenny

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      I made these with beef and changed the mint to paprika and the all spice to parsley. They were delicious, very easy to make. I grilled them on the BBQ. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      These were great. I made 8 little patties and did them outside on the gas grill. Didn't have the necessary to make fresh breadcrumbs so I used 2/3 cup of oats. It worked fine. We had them with Turkish Zucchini Fritters Kabak Mücveri (Turkish Zucchini Fritters), sliced tomato, warm flat bread; and cantaloupe for dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      These were outstanding. I couldn't find lamb in our grocery so I used beef instead. Subsituted fresh dill for mint (again not available at the store). Also had no allspice, so I combined ground cloves and cinnamon to equal 1/2 tsp. Shaped mine into 12 finger shaped patties. Grilled them on the BBQ over medium heat. Served with greek salad, pita, hummus, tzatziki, and grilled eggplant. It was a meal to die for!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

    • on March 25, 2007

      Great recipe! I used to live near a Turkish restaurant that had amazing kofta, and this recipe taste just as great as that place. My husband loved them as well. It pretty easy to make. I served it with a cucumber-yoghurt sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkish Meatballs (Kofta)

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.3
     
    Calories from Fat 295
    61%
    Total Fat 32.8 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 129.6 mg
    43%
    Sodium 576.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 24.3 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites