Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkish Delight (Lokoom) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkish Delight (Lokoom)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2006

      I recently bought a small box of Turkish delight and thought it should be simple to make. This recipe was very simple and very successful. I used 3 Tbs rosewater as part of the water, 6 fresh mint leaves torn into quarters, 1 Tbs lime juice, and the zest of 1 lemon as the flavoring. I was trying to get the flavor of rose-lemon/lime-menthe. I infused the mint in the sugar/gelstin/water mixture as it was simmering. I tried to remove all the mint before chilling. A few small pieces remained, but they actually add to the flavor. I can taste each of the flavors I used. The amount of rosewater to use is really dependent upon the strength you are starting with. This was good if you like the rose, but I would reduce it to 2 Tbs if you want it to be a little more subtle. I didn't find a difference between using an oiled knife or the sharp paring knife, so I gave up on oiling the knife. I would definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Wow, I thought the Turkish Delight was really good. I had never tried it before in my life but it's really good. I ended up using 2 Tbls. of rose water. And then 2 teaspoons of lemon juice and it worked out well. And yes, the knife needs to be really sharp to cut the final product. I had to enlist in the help of my husband to cut it for me! Really good candy, will make it again sometime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      To me, this didn't quite meet my expectations as Turkish Delight. Nevertheless, it turned out to be a wonderfully soft, chewy jelly candy that I colored a bright pink, flavored with cherry and almond extract and rolled in granulated sugar. I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      I really love the scent and the flavor of this candy. I've never experimented with rose water before, and I ready to use it in several more recipes! The turnout was beautiful and delicious. I added pistachios to the mix in the beginning. That worked well. Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      I tried this recipe and was delighted with the result. Although, instead of 3 envelopes of Unflavoured Gelatine, I substituted Gelatine Leaves. It worked a treat. I will make some more and put it in a fancy box as a Christmas present.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      How easy is this receipe?!!! I was amazed at how well this turned out - and all with minimal effort on my part! I will make this again and again - thanks for a great recipe. I made this as gifts for my family and they all raved about it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      These were great! I made them for a book themed baby shower (The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe). I used lime zest, lemon juice, and about 1 tbsp of rose water and coloured them pink for the baby girl. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      DD (toddler) like this. I used vegan gelatin from the health food store which didn't mix in properly and some bits were harder than others which were more of a gel. I used sea salt, 2 tbs Iranian rose water (superior than others) that seemed to have the flavour simmer out over the 10 minutes, freshly squeezed lemon juice, lemon rind, white sugar I powdered in my spice mill/coffee grinder to be corn free, plus the water and I did not use any colouring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      i am waiting for my batch of lokoom to set as i write this... i kept wondering how i would keep the sugar from burning without stirring... turns out if you start out and maintain the heat on super-low it is possible... however, after having it on super-low for a long while and not seeing any boiling action, i cranked it to medium and ended up with burnt sugar at the bottom of my pot, which i tried not to disturb in order to keep it from tainting the whole batch... i will update this and actually put up the stars tomorrow... i really hope i managed to save the end product, or that it is at least a good enough result to convince me to make a second attempt...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      wonderful recipe!! Had a craving for turkish delight and was going to buy some.I am glad I did not.These were so easy to do.I did not use food color but they turned out a lovely lemon color.Beautiful taste and really did taste authentic!!. They did not get stuck in pan as I was worried about-came out nice and easy.My children-especially my 10 year old son loved them!!! I loved them too!! Thankyou for sharing!!!oh my daughter just asked me for some more and she can be fussy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      YUM! I made an orange flavor and it was really yummy. Reminds me of those orange gummy candies that my grandma used to get. I did NOT use rose water, but used orange juice and orange zest. Turned out GREAT and was VERY easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkish Delight (Lokoom)

    Serving Size: 1 (660 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 924.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    73%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 195.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 228.5 g
    76%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 228.1 g
    912%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons

    lemons

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites