18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As An Arabic person who drinks 4 to 5 cups of turkish coffee a day, you did it extremely well. This is the way Nana Lee. but you can serve this coffee without foam, it depends on the taste of the person and the sugar should be used to the taste like 1/2 coffee spoon of sugar for the same recipe is u like it medium sweet and 1 if u like it sweet and when u want it little sweet let it be just on the top of the spoon. the spoon of sugar should be leveled not full. Good appetite. By the way my nick name is Nana Too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angellb October 03, 2007

We call this Greek Coffee here in Greece...love it! I like the addition of cardamom in this recipe - provides a nice fragrant brew. Be prepared for a kind of coffee 'cream' to form on top and coffee sediment (the fine grounds) to settle to the bottom of your cup. Do not drink these. If you were in Greece or in Turkey, you would swirl the last few drops of coffee in your cup, overturn the cup to eliminate the sediment and allow the pattern formed on the cup to dry, upside-down. Then, a nice local lady would 'read' your cup and predict your future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 20, 2006

Yay! Ever since I spent my KG2 in Syria 17 years ago (my mom comes from there), I longed for that smell. To me, nothing beats the smell of coffee and cardamom, especially in the morning or after a large meal. I just enjoyed a cup of this recipe, and it's almost as good as when I was there! (There's only one thing missing to make it as good : Syria) When I went back with my mom 6 years ago, we brought back some bags of Turkish coffee. There was 3 types : 5% cardamom, 10% and 15%. I'm always annoyed that my mom never chooses 15%, but I can make my own now! It's simple, I go by weight (yeah, 15% is really a LOT) and I choose a blend of very dark bitter coffee mixed with a light sweet one. Here are some approximations. 5% is regular : it means that for 1 tbsp coffee, you put about 1/8 tsp cardamom. 10% is strong : 1/4 tsp cardamom. 15% is very strong : for the same amount of coffee, you put 1/2 tsp cardamom. That's how I like it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elie de Combys September 23, 2014

This was actually fun to make and especially rewarding. 1st time I've had coffee in this style and it was a great intro for me. 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jrrmn October 11, 2013

Very good. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeccaJean August 20, 2006

Not a coffee I would want to drink on a regular basis, but certainly nice to end a Turkish meal. I bought Turkish coffee and used sugar, as the sugar was included in the directions on the package of the coffee I bought. I remember that I was offered Turkish coffee once from holiday makers who had rented a bungalow next to ours and it was strong, flavoured with cardamom (as in this recipe) and there was lots of sugar in it. They served it in tiny glasses probably holding about 1/4 cup. Different but nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck July 01, 2006

I love strong coffee, so it was right up my alley. Delicious, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ July 01, 2006

I made this using the cardamom pod....I didn't get any foam but I did have a few bubbles. Very enjoyable!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff June 28, 2006

I made this as per the directions. I ground my coffee as fine as I good in the grinder then pulverized it with mortar and pestle then again in the grinder. While mine did foam some it didn't foam quite as much the second time around. I will say that a person does not need to drink the whole 2 servings themselves. If you do you will get a caffeine buzz and how. I used brown sugar as the sweetener. This is a true delight for a coffee lover such as me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 26, 2006

I love the cardomom flavor with the coffee. I used Splenda in place of sugar. Great change from the "smae old" coffee. Thanx for posting. I'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 24, 2006
Turkish Coffee