Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkish Coffee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkish Coffee

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2007

      As An Arabic person who drinks 4 to 5 cups of turkish coffee a day, you did it extremely well. This is the way Nana Lee. but you can serve this coffee without foam, it depends on the taste of the person and the sugar should be used to the taste like 1/2 coffee spoon of sugar for the same recipe is u like it medium sweet and 1 if u like it sweet and when u want it little sweet let it be just on the top of the spoon. the spoon of sugar should be leveled not full. Good appetite. By the way my nick name is Nana Too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      We call this Greek Coffee here in Greece...love it! I like the addition of cardamom in this recipe - provides a nice fragrant brew. Be prepared for a kind of coffee 'cream' to form on top and coffee sediment (the fine grounds) to settle to the bottom of your cup. Do not drink these. If you were in Greece or in Turkey, you would swirl the last few drops of coffee in your cup, overturn the cup to eliminate the sediment and allow the pattern formed on the cup to dry, upside-down. Then, a nice local lady would 'read' your cup and predict your future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2014

      Yay! Ever since I spent my KG2 in Syria 17 years ago (my mom comes from there), I longed for that smell. To me, nothing beats the smell of coffee and cardamom, especially in the morning or after a large meal. I just enjoyed a cup of this recipe, and it's almost as good as when I was there! (There's only one thing missing to make it as good : Syria) When I went back with my mom 6 years ago, we brought back some bags of Turkish coffee. There was 3 types : 5% cardamom, 10% and 15%. I'm always annoyed that my mom never chooses 15%, but I can make my own now! It's simple, I go by weight (yeah, 15% is really a LOT) and I choose a blend of very dark bitter coffee mixed with a light sweet one. Here are some approximations. 5% is regular : it means that for 1 tbsp coffee, you put about 1/8 tsp cardamom. 10% is strong : 1/4 tsp cardamom. 15% is very strong : for the same amount of coffee, you put 1/2 tsp cardamom. That's how I like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      This was actually fun to make and especially rewarding. 1st time I've had coffee in this style and it was a great intro for me. 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Very good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      Not a coffee I would want to drink on a regular basis, but certainly nice to end a Turkish meal. I bought Turkish coffee and used sugar, as the sugar was included in the directions on the package of the coffee I bought. I remember that I was offered Turkish coffee once from holiday makers who had rented a bungalow next to ours and it was strong, flavoured with cardamom (as in this recipe) and there was lots of sugar in it. They served it in tiny glasses probably holding about 1/4 cup. Different but nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      I love strong coffee, so it was right up my alley. Delicious, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      I made this using the cardamom pod....I didn't get any foam but I did have a few bubbles. Very enjoyable!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      I made this as per the directions. I ground my coffee as fine as I good in the grinder then pulverized it with mortar and pestle then again in the grinder. While mine did foam some it didn't foam quite as much the second time around. I will say that a person does not need to drink the whole 2 servings themselves. If you do you will get a caffeine buzz and how. I used brown sugar as the sweetener. This is a true delight for a coffee lover such as me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      I love the cardomom flavor with the coffee. I used Splenda in place of sugar. Great change from the "smae old" coffee. Thanx for posting. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Very nice, but a little strong for my taste. For some reason I didn't get a foam on top, but it was good anyway. I also used a cardamom pod that added a nice touch of flavor. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Ive got to admit, I didnt try it, but I made it for my maid, who loves coffee and she went "THIS IS SO NICE" when I gave it to her. So, 5 stars!!!!! Unfortunately, like NCMYSTERYSHOPPER, i didnt get any foam either...hmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Wow! Caffeine BUZZ! This is great! Loved the touch of cardamom. Mine foamed well the first boil but not the second...hmmmm- got a little foam- tiny bit- at least- in the cup! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      A very common coffee in Greece, Iran , Irak , and in all Far East. The addition of cardamon popular in Far East but not here in Greece. I try it and I liked it but its too spice for my taste. But I will make again that for sure. Thanks Nana Lee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      This really is good. I used ground cardamon..DH says 'different' lol. But I did enjoy it! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      I made this in a little pot and used a cardamom pod. Smelled wonderful; tasted even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Great Coffee! I usually have to have cream in my coffee but this was great black! I never got the coffee to foam, maybe b/c I added sugar to the water?? But even without the foam it was good! I guess I need more practice. So after this initial ZOOM recedes I will make another batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Wow! This is really different. I have never had real Turkish coffee, so I have nothing to compare it with. But very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkish Coffee

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    23%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ground coffee

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes