Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Sweet Potato Pie ( Shepherd's Pie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Sweet Potato Pie ( Shepherd's Pie)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2013

      This was excellent, and my husband and I both loved it even though I had to make changes due to my current dietary restrictions (replaced buttermilk with coconut milk, and omitted butter, olive oil, and curry powder). A delicious, fairly simple, and wonderfully flexible recipe, that I look forward to making the "original" way very soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      the mashed sweet potato topping is AWESOME. I did change the honey to 1/4 cup, which made them come out a little sweeter, but, it was a great contrast. The filling needed more flavor - i did add carrots and celery along with the peas, but, I think the ground turkey itself needed some more spices for flavor. I did put a layer of stuffing between the pot pie and the sweet potato topping - that was a wonderful addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I thought this was good but missing something. It was better to me once I added some more salt and pepper, but my husband wasn't thrilled about it. I did leave out the peas as I noticed at the last minute I was out. I added carrots. Next time I might try changing the seasonings to chili powder and cumin instead of curry and add some extra garlic. I think the mashed sweet potatoes on top were the best part of this pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      This was really, really good. I made some alterations though. Instead of traditional sweet potato I used boniato (a white sweet potato). I think it has a better texture for this sort of thing. I had to use a little extra buttermilk than the recipe calls for. If you try it, just eyeball it until it's the consistency you want. I also played up the seasonings for the meat filling more. I used oregano, garlic powder, pepper (white & black), etc.... It came out really good and my family loved it. Definitely will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Tried this recipe again. And instead of using sweet potatoes I used yams. And instead of using ground turkey I used ground beef. It tastes pretty similar to the other way, but I think it's slightly better. Only because I LOVE yams more than sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I liked this, as did my family, but it wasn't as good as I had hoped. I don't know if it would have helped if I had used buttermilk (subbed milk with lemon juice). It didn't hold together very well so we ended up mixing it all up, which reminded me of a curry casserole instead of seeming like an exotic shepherd's pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      best ever. thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      Oh my, this is incredible! My family gobbled it up and begged for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      I made this last night for my in-laws, DH, and son. Everyone enjoyed it. Thank you for the yummy recipe. I did make several changes/additions. To the ground turkey, I added diced carrots and celery in addition to peas, onions, and garlic. I also added some chicken bouillion and worchestire sauce to add to the flavor. In the sweet potato mixture I substituted maple syrup for the honey, but I'm sure it would taste just as good with honey. It turned out very good. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      This turned out very tasty, even with the omission of curry (it turned out I didn't have any, after all!) It succeeded because it didn't try to be Shepherd's Pie, but really stood alone as its own dish rather than a substitution. However, I think either more flour needs to be added, or the flour needs to be added after the frozen peas, because this turned out more watery than I expected. It was also a little bit more cinnamon-y than I liked, but I believe that may be because I followed the recipe incorrectly... and that leads me to my one complaint: the way the recipe is written. So confusing! For example, in the ingredients, it indicates that 1/4 teaspon of cinnamon should be used, but then step one contradict that and says 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I used 1 teaspoon, and I think it was too much--it throws off the flavor balance a bunch. As a previous comment mentioned, the fact that the ingredients are listed in order of when they are used can be potentially confusing, too. Still, I am willing to forgive a lot, as this was a VERY satisfying dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      This is very tasty! Definite comfort food. I did find the ingredient list to be a little confusing because so many of the ingredients are out of order, and it took a lot longer than 20 minutes to brown up. It also tasted like it could use a little something else to give it more flavor. Overall, though, this was very yummy and I would certainly make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Sweet Potato Pie ( Shepherd's Pie)

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 616.5
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    35%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 152.2 mg
    50%
    Sodium 431.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sage leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites