11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent, and my husband and I both loved it even though I had to make changes due to my current dietary restrictions (replaced buttermilk with coconut milk, and omitted butter, olive oil, and curry powder). A delicious, fairly simple, and wonderfully flexible recipe, that I look forward to making the "original" way very soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan_L February 17, 2013

the mashed sweet potato topping is AWESOME. I did change the honey to 1/4 cup, which made them come out a little sweeter, but, it was a great contrast. The filling needed more flavor - i did add carrots and celery along with the peas, but, I think the ground turkey itself needed some more spices for flavor. I did put a layer of stuffing between the pot pie and the sweet potato topping - that was a wonderful addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ December 12, 2010

I thought this was good but missing something. It was better to me once I added some more salt and pepper, but my husband wasn't thrilled about it. I did leave out the peas as I noticed at the last minute I was out. I added carrots. Next time I might try changing the seasonings to chili powder and cumin instead of curry and add some extra garlic. I think the mashed sweet potatoes on top were the best part of this pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate J November 20, 2009

This was really, really good. I made some alterations though. Instead of traditional sweet potato I used boniato (a white sweet potato). I think it has a better texture for this sort of thing. I had to use a little extra buttermilk than the recipe calls for. If you try it, just eyeball it until it's the consistency you want. I also played up the seasonings for the meat filling more. I used oregano, garlic powder, pepper (white & black), etc.... It came out really good and my family loved it. Definitely will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarity148 May 07, 2009

Tried this recipe again. And instead of using sweet potatoes I used yams. And instead of using ground turkey I used ground beef. It tastes pretty similar to the other way, but I think it's slightly better. Only because I LOVE yams more than sweet potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakeGirl23 December 06, 2008

I liked this, as did my family, but it wasn't as good as I had hoped. I don't know if it would have helped if I had used buttermilk (subbed milk with lemon juice). It didn't hold together very well so we ended up mixing it all up, which reminded me of a curry casserole instead of seeming like an exotic shepherd's pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom March 25, 2008

best ever. thank you. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Archangel September 05, 2007

Oh my, this is incredible! My family gobbled it up and begged for more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kana March 23, 2006

I made this last night for my in-laws, DH, and son. Everyone enjoyed it. Thank you for the yummy recipe. I did make several changes/additions. To the ground turkey, I added diced carrots and celery in addition to peas, onions, and garlic. I also added some chicken bouillion and worchestire sauce to add to the flavor. In the sweet potato mixture I substituted maple syrup for the honey, but I'm sure it would taste just as good with honey. It turned out very good. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristiJoy March 09, 2006

This turned out very tasty, even with the omission of curry (it turned out I didn't have any, after all!) It succeeded because it didn't try to be Shepherd's Pie, but really stood alone as its own dish rather than a substitution. However, I think either more flour needs to be added, or the flour needs to be added after the frozen peas, because this turned out more watery than I expected. It was also a little bit more cinnamon-y than I liked, but I believe that may be because I followed the recipe incorrectly... and that leads me to my one complaint: the way the recipe is written. So confusing! For example, in the ingredients, it indicates that 1/4 teaspon of cinnamon should be used, but then step one contradict that and says 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I used 1 teaspoon, and I think it was too much--it throws off the flavor balance a bunch. As a previous comment mentioned, the fact that the ingredients are listed in order of when they are used can be potentially confusing, too. Still, I am willing to forgive a lot, as this was a VERY satisfying dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lise F January 05, 2005
Turkey Sweet Potato Pie ( Shepherd's Pie)