53 Reviews

This is a DELICIOUS recipe, literally BURSTING with flavor. I hate to sound like a commercial, but it's true. I addded an extra cup of carrots and chicken broth, and about 2 extra cups of turkey, and it was YUMMY. No need for salt or pepper, the rest of the seasonings took care of that. Thanks, Tammy this is a real winner.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pansori November 29, 2002

I didn't follow the recipe to a tee, but it still deserves 5 stars. I added fresh thyme and rosemary in addition to the dried stuff because I had both and wanted to use some up. I eyeballed the ingredients and used the rest of our Thanksgiving turkey up, probably about 4 cups. Doubled the liquid and omitted the milk and sour cream entirely. Used small curly noodles instead of potato, which was AWESOME. Also, if you don't know about "Better than Bouillon" yet you should try it!!! Lasts longer than stock in the cartons and easy if your short on time and don't want to make your own stock. I used half veggie base and half mushroom base for this soup, it offers really REALLY great flavor to any soup. try it! In any case, this soup certainly doesn't need the dairy in my opinion, and the noodles are perfect if your over potatoes after thanksgiving. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JungleLove November 30, 2010

Great recipe! I made a few changes. I doubled the recipe and instead of potatoes added wild rice. I simmered it for another 1 1/2 hours added a couple more cups of chicken stock and then then 1/2 & 1/2. Salt and pepper to taste. My family loved it. Will definately make again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmarty November 27, 2010

Great way to use up left over turkey! I actually used left over roast chicken and left out the mushrooms (my husband doesn't like them). I also added one teaspoon each of the salt and pepper. Good tasty hot soup! Great with a dinner roll! Easy recipe to make. The only set back was that I expected the recipe to make a little more so I could make it last a little longer. It made about 4 (1 cup)servings so I would recommend doubling this recipe. Very good soup!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cactus Arm December 29, 2004

Excellent soup and seasonings are spot on. I did increase the amount or turkey and stock. The broth is thin, which is nice although the kids added, "next time make the broth thicker". I can do that! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour December 03, 2013

My husband made this soup while I was working Black Friday, and I came home to possibly the best soup I've had. Ever. I'm not exaggerating! The flavor is so perfectly balanced, and I just love it. Thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aim4Edible December 01, 2013

Great soup! I've made this twice in the last two weeks. I was looking for something to make for a second family thanksgiving that would use up some of the leftover turkey and decided on this. I tripled the recipe and just about doubled the herbs and added a few small bay leaves, salt, and plenty of freshly ground pepper. I also stirred in the sour cream and parsley, and added about 4 oz. of cream cheese to the tripled batch. The second time I made it, I made a double batch, but halved the amount of potatoes, added wild rice, and skipped the milk. Then, I stirred in about a cup of sour cream and 6 oz. of cream cheese. At this point, the soup was good, but the final product isn't exactly a 'creamy' soup. So, I decided to thicken it up by pulling out some of the liquid and whisking in arrowroot powder. The end result was a nice creamy, gluten free turkey wild rice soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'-4-5 December 01, 2012

Changed it a bit, but a perfect after Thanksgiving soup. I omitted the sour cream but added 2 cups of milk and 2 extra cups of broth. Instead of potatoes, I added 1 cup uncooked wild rice. Added a bit of extra turkey and only used the dark meat since the white is usually used for sandwiches. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Boy R Lis November 25, 2011

I served this last night. It was delicious. My guests loved it. I did add some leftover gravy and 2 more cups of broth. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandeplatt February 23, 2010

Super yummy! i used 2% milk and then just stirred in the sour cream to the entire pot just before serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker December 06, 2009
Turkey Soup