Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Shepherd's Pie With Two-Potato Topping (Or Chicken) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Shepherd's Pie With Two-Potato Topping (Or Chicken)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2011

      Yum, Yum, Yummy! Such a great & quick way to use up leftovers. Instead of chopping up a carrot, i used leftover veggies (corn, peas, carrots). Also to make my dried-out-day-old mashed potatoes a little creamier, I added a bit of cream cheese. I'm not too adventure-some; so, I left out the orange juice. Other than that, no changes & VERY happy with the results! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I thought this was a wonderful way to use up turkey, as well as all the other left overs. I used all dark meat, since i'd already froze the white meat. It worked fine. I also added cooked carrots left from 24k Carrots from mama's kitchen. I added the carrots after the celery and onions were cooked. I didn't have sweet potatos, so I used regular mashed potatos and added even more. Anyway, it all turned out very good. This recipe has wonderful potential for a great deal of variety. I think the turkey filling part would be good in turkey pot pies. I think I'll try peas in it next time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      Excellent! Lovely combination of flavors and sure to be a kid favorite. Made exactly as stated except I made four individual servings in 2 quart Pyrex dishes (filled half full, so pint containers will also work). When cooled, I pressed plastic wrap down over the topping, wrapped in foil and froze two for another meal. Next time I might sprinkler some crumbled stuffing over the mashed potatoes and perhaps add green beans or peas to the filling. Thanks for the wonderful recipe - we'll certainly be making this after every turkey dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Just finished dinner - yum! I didn't make quite as directed; there weren't enough mashed potatos left, so I made up the difference by mashing the leftover parsnip casserole (#152495) and I didn't have any orange juice or chives. Great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This recipe is very good & enjoyed by all family members. Followed the recipe as posted except I used mashed potatoes instead of sweet. I had the gravy left from the roasted chicken. Thank you NcMysteryShopper! I am always looking for recipes for leftover chicken & this recipe will be served often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      This was pretty good. Next time I will add more gravy and probably more seasoning. It's a good base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      This is a great recipe. I used chicken with this. Mine could have used more gravy though, because the leftovers were drier than the first dish! I made two dishes out of this and froze the second one without baking. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Oh yummy yummy! I made most of this by my own self! I scooped the leftovers from Thanksgiving and put the right amounts in the pan. I used the food processor to cut up the onions and the carrots and the celery. I also mixed the potatoes in the processor with the egg. I made dinner all by myself!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This recipe got a big thumbs up from the whole family. I used garlic mashed potatoes and mixed candied yams into it. It looked a big funky coming out of the oven but the taste was just great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      This turned out really well. I followed the recipe faithfully with the exception of substituting scallions for chives and dried sage for fresh (Amazingly, I had everything else on hand). My wife thought it was perfect as it was. I'm tempted to play around with it - maybe a little orange zest, maybe garlic, maybe tarragon. Anyway, it was even better leftover, which says a lot since the turkey was then doubly leftover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      Because I made this with chicken (we don’t eat nearly as much turkey in Australia as Americans eat), I made what was a truly delicious Chicken Shepherd’s Pie. I didn’t have any gravy, so I added ½ cup of low-fat sour cream and a dash of wine (not quite traditional, but…), which worked out fine. I also added 3 chopped cloves of garlic with the onions, celery and carrots. The choice of parsley and sage gave a wonderful flavour to this Shepherd’s Pie with a difference! As did the combination of the two potatoes. All I’ll do differently next time is to double the portions, as this is a dish which would freeze well. Thank you for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      This recipe passed the husband and kids test-I'll definitely be making this again! My first time using sage or sweet potato in shepherd's pie, different for us but a delicious dish! I used bluemoon downunder's Sweet Potato Mash for the sweet potato mash. A perfect match! I love one dish meals-especially when they are this good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      Very good. I used chicken and chicken gravy instead of turkey. And I added pepper, garlic and a dash of worcestershire as well as a bunch of cheese. Zaar World Tour 05

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      We realy like this version of Shepherd's Pie. mixing the two potatoes was new for us. Excellant recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Very nice version of shepherd's pie. I used chicken rather than turkey and left out the celery; I also added some grated cheddar to the topping. While I think I prefer the Aussie version with worcestershire sauce, ketchup and roast lamb, DH loved this and ate it so fast I thought I must have got our portions mixed up! Thanks for a lovely weeknight meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Shepherd's Pie With Two-Potato Topping (Or Chicken)

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.2
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    35%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 940.3 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turkey meat

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes