25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this recipe ... loosely to try to replicate a family favorite (minus polenta). I placed the sausage, peppers, onion and garlic in a baking dish and added one small zucchini and one small summer squash. I drizzled with 1T of olive oil and sprinkled with 1 T. Italian seasoning. Baked 375 convection for 20 minutes, flipped the sausage and baked 20 more. I added 1 28 oz. can Cento crushed tomatoes and stirred and placed back in the oven for 10 more minutes. Served on a flatbread like a sausage sandwich it points out to 7 points per full sausage serving. (5 for one sausage and vegetables only) Got great reviews from my 5th generation Italian-American kids!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 October 10, 2013

Sorry, can't give more than 3 stars: 1 oz of protein is not a serviing, so the recipe is not for an entree but a side with an accent of turkey sausage. Instead used 10 oz. of Shady Brook low-fat Italian turkey sausage instead, which was acceptable as an entree, and added more garlic and red pepper flakes to DH's taste. Next time (there will be a next time!) I will partially freeze the turkey sausage for 30 minutes to get cleaner slices. Served this over microwaved brown rice. A big hit for DH!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL April 09, 2011

I make this just as listed, but I serve on top of baked potatoes, or whole wheat rotini pasta from Trader Joe's or Whole Foods. My guy loves it. Can't tell at all it is WW. Super tasty

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monique.j.jimenez June 07, 2010

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K4arts November 07, 2013

This was ok. Added some tomatoes and a little red wine and greek seasoning. Added extra sausage as suggested by others. Probably would not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest July 14, 2011

My family LOVED this!! Thank you soo much for a simple and just GOOD tasting recipe!! This will be my go to recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberlyhaase January 27, 2011

Man...I LOVED THIS!!!!! I'm not following Weight Watchers...but was looking for something to make with sausage and peppers. Found this and decided to give it a try. I increased the crushed red peppers and increased the broth to 1 cup. I increased the sausage to 1 pound and I also added about 4 cloves of garlic and only used 2 peppers. Served this over wheat rotini with a bit of parmesan on top and we ALL loved it! Including 4 and 6 year old! I would honestly say this goes into one of my top recipes of all time. I used hot turkey italian sausage for the meat. Wonderful! Perfect instructions and incredible flavor. GREAT RECIPE!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl January 08, 2011

Great recipe. I made as directed except adding 1 pound of sausage and recalculated the WW points which makes it 7 if you divide it by 4 servings. Wonderful flavor.....quick, easy and very filling. Served it alone with a tossed salad. Will definitely make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nonie39 September 20, 2010

I made this with chicken sausage because my store didn't have any turkey sausage. I also left out the red pepper and oregano because the chicken sausage had plenty of seasoning in it and I didn't want it to be too spicy for my 6 year old. It turned out really good and was super easy and fast! My whole family raved how yummy it was. Next time I want to make it with Turkey Kielbasa for another variation. Thanks for a great recipe that can be made quickly on a busy weeknight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loricrenshaw July 07, 2010

My recipe for Turkey Sausage and Peppers is similar to this one. Instead of chicken broth I use a can of diced tomatoes (Rotel). I serve this on hoagie rolls with a salad. Not exactly Weight Watchers but very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marich January 28, 2010
Turkey Sausage and Bell Peppers Weight Watchers Style