72 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to agree, this was delicious. I say "have to" because normally turkey is not our thing but I now find myself making a turkey breast just to have leftovers for this pot pie. Like others, I have made some very small changes: I use 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter to saute the vegetables, I use 2% milk instead of whole milk and I add a 1/2 a small bag of frozen peas and 1/2 a small bag of frozen lima beans to the mix when the potatoes are just about done cooking. I think you could use pretty much any herbs and any vegetable you have and it'd be great. Poultry seasoning works well, of course, as does something like Mural of Flavor from Penzey's. Also, I make more than the recipe calls for and instead of making it into a pie, I toss the filling into a big rectangular Pyrex pan (it's completely filled) and then cut the crusts (I use the store-bought ones) to cover the top and bake. It's delicious, easy to do and makes lots of leftovers (which of course just get better and better).

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PoRW February 08, 2010

This was just delicious!! I made this with Thanksgiving leftovers but just now getting around to rating. I didn't have any oregano OR parlsey (oops!) so I used rosemary and thyme which turned out to be even better than I expected. I will be making this again... and again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LovinMyTSR January 09, 2010

Yum! This was my first attempt at making a pot pie. I had huge smoked turkey drumsticks so I shredded one up for this recipe. I kind of winged it with the seasonings.. with no parsley on hand, I used Italian seasoning, lots of oregano, a bit of thyme as well. I didn't have potatoes either, so I omitted the chicken broth and added more veggies to compensate. A frozen vegetable mix worked out well. Everything came together really easily: I made the filling early in the day, put it in the fridge, then put it all together in the evening for an easy dinner. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu December 25, 2009

First Pot Pie I have ever made and it was Awesome! Changes I made: added 2 garlic cloves with onions, used frozen broccoli, cauliflower & carrot mix, added some frozen peas, small can of mushrooms and used refrigerated pie crusts. The Perfect Pot Pie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SEvans April 20, 2009

Fantastic!! I omitted the potatoes as I usually serve mashed on the side. :) I also changed the method a bit. I cooked the onion, carrots, and some garlic in the butter until softened. I added 2 cups of chopped cooked dark meat turkey. I added the chicken broth and simmered for a few minutes. I put all of this into a bowl and set aside. In the same pan (I used a large cast-iron skillet) I melted the butter and added the flour, mixed well, then added the milk. Then I added the veggie/turkey mixture back in to thicken. I put it all back into the bowl and tossed in 1/2 cup frozen corn and 1/2 cup frozen peas. Everyone LOVED it. I made this using the zaar recipe Perfect Oil Pastry.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danlynclark December 27, 2008

Wow! I didn't know pot pie could be this easy and it was delicious as well. The directions are spot on. I added a clove of garlic to the onion saute and some frozen peas and corn to the veggies before baking...because I can't eat pot pie without peas. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendelina November 28, 2011

My husband loves this with the leftover fried turkey from Thanksgiving. We also add peas to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda November 28, 2011

This was, hands down, one of the best pot pies I've ever eaten. My husband and two sons (one of which is a picky eater) agree. I didn't have any oregano so I just used a 1/2 tsp of minced garlic along with seasoned salt from Tastefully Simple and it might have made it better. :) Thank you for sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
siouxgal79 November 27, 2010

Absolutely Delicious! No store bought pie could ever compare to this one. My husband drools when I say that I am making this pie tonight; the best I have ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jackson05 January 01, 2010

This was good! Hubby really liked it. My pie crust browned a little too quickly after just the first 10 minutes, so I had to cover it with foil for the rest of the cooking time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rohanlori December 28, 2009
Turkey Pot Pie