15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent. The filling turned out very tasty. I like biscuits, so I used 2 cups Bisquick, 1/2 cup chedder cheese, and 1 cup milk, to make a topping instead of using the crust. I baked covered with foil for 20 minutes, then uncoverd for 15 more minutes.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney December 28, 2002

It was very good and I loved the crust and I had a great dish in less than an hour Carolyn

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn34 January 31, 2004

What a great recipe! I doubled the recipe because my family loves to eat. Eat they did. They loved it. I did put more evaporated milk in with it. It made more gravy. I did follow the instructions from Mike McCartney and used the bisquick topping and it was yummy. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Dawn January 04, 2004

Very yummy. I think the next time I will use a little less thyme, I think it overpowered the other flavors. Perfect for our leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinar1972 November 28, 2003

This is sooo good! I diced and sautéed ½ small onion and two celery stalks in 2 T. butter, and then added to Step 1. If no left over turkey or chicken, I dice raw chicken breast and add it to the sautéed veggies as they start to get tender, cooking till done. I used half-n-half for milk. You can use cream or regular milk. The potato flakes and parmesan make the crust my favorite part. Thanks MizzNezz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrscrowell September 15, 2009

I let my husband rate this one. I thought it was pretty darn good for a super fast pot pie. I think the "can soup" makes it a 3 star recipe. I am still looking for an authentic Pot Pie Recipe. I used a traditional pie crust for the top, so I am only rating the filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethany21 July 01, 2009

I substituted all the milk and cream with soymilk and used a mushroom and leek soup instead of cream of mushroom. The recipe still came out absolutely delicious and it was easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skb289 January 18, 2008

this was perfect! I doubled the recipe and used fresh veg. - not a piece left for lunch the next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sho enough February 01, 2007

Excellent. I used cream of chicken soup and added a jar of mushroom pieces along with some fresh celery that I lightly sauteed in butter. Also, I cut back on the amount of turkey and used an 8" square corningware dish. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smiley Roma November 27, 2005

Great recipe, Inez! I doubled this recipe and did adapt this to the items I had on hand (2 cooked, frozen turkey loaves with gravy). I added the leftover gravy to the cream of mushroom soup and a nice blend of frozen vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots). I also used fresh lemon thyme and parsley--wonderful flavor! Instead of rolling out the crust, I dropped it in pieces by hand across the top to create a crispy topping. It worked! This came out so great that my 8 year old son, who is picky about casseroles and cheese, asked for a THIRD helping! This gets my highest rating! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi in Wisconsin August 31, 2005
Turkey Pot Pie