9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe with chicken and half the amount of tomato sauce (all I had on hand). The crust is absolutely delicious, and having less tomato sauce worked perfectly. (I'll make it that way from now on.) It was the best chicken parmesan I've ever had!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Teacher April 26, 2009

I'm not a big fan of turkey so I used chicken breasts instead. I butterflied then lightly pounded out my chicken breasts so that they would cook more evenly. The pine nut coating was very tasty on its own but did not stick to the chicken very well and most of it fell off during the frying. I think next time I would coat it and spray it with some cooking spray then bake it instead of frying both to keep the crust on and save on fat and calories. The tomato sauce alone was very bland. Definitely needed some seasoning. Overall pretty good and something to build on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeeblyWeebly May 26, 2012

I made this with chicken. The flavor is good, but the "breading" was too moist and did not stick to the chicken. Next time I make chicken parmesan, I'll just use my old recipe for my hubby and omit the breading for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen B. July 29, 2014

I also used chicken breasts instead of turkey. I added oregano, minced garlic and onion powder to my tomato sauce and that made the sauce better than just plain tomato sauce. This recipe was very yummy and my picky hubby commentedbonbhiw good the chicken was!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diane_7656672 January 23, 2012

This was delicious! I didn't even miss the breadcrumbs (or the pasta I usually have when I eat chicken parm). Thank you so much for sharing. I used chicken, since that's what I had on hand. Also, I dredged the chicken in egg first, which helped the "breading" stick to the chicken. This will definitely be a go-to recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Car616 May 31, 2011

WOW! My first day on South Beach diet and I was already losing hope. Craved something delicious and hearty all day then found this and made it for dinner based on the reviews. AMAZING! Think I'm going to make it every day during phase 1 and beyond! My husband, who is not on the diet (and a wonderful cook, btw) ate it and said, "wow, this is better than anything I've ever cooked, let's have it very very often!" I used chicken breast instead of turkey and no parmesan since I didn't have either and it still turned out absolutely scrumptious! Had a hard time with the crust sticking but it still tasted delicious all mixed into the sauce. Can't wait to make this again for dinner tonight! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freelytree May 04, 2011

My husband loved it. ....two out of three kids didn't complain. I had a wee trouble keeping the crust on, but the crust that was on, was marvie! ****I used chicken as well, as it's what I had on hand! Going in the three-ring binder of repeatable meals!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef July January 13, 2011

This was excellent! My husband loved it, and said it's one of the best things I've ever made for him. :) So good and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aapeterson0401 January 14, 2009

Unbelievably fantastic! This is a new house favorite here. I used about 1/3 cup nuts (that was the amount in the package) and it was plenty. Cooked as per instructions otherwise and it was so simple and quick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thelamars4 January 02, 2008
Turkey Parmesan - South Beach Phase 1