62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is easy, economical, and excellent. I enjoyed preparing the soup and I had many curious inquiries in the kitchen where I work as to what I was heating up for my lunch. Yummy!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ January 09, 2002

WOW, so easy and an incredibly good, hearty soup! Based on other reviewers comments and our own preferences, I made a few adjustments, but the overall recipe is a WINNER that I will continue to use, with chicken as well! My modifications were: Instead of water, used low-sodium, low-fat chicken broth; instead of bouillon cubes, I used ½ packet Lipton onion soup mix; I used 2 bay leaves instead of 1; instead of green beans, I used a jar mushroom pieces; can of corn; 3 gloves crushed garlic; and 1 tsp rosemary. Instead of flour/water roux, I poured in leftover turkey gravy, which was perfect. And finally, also cook my noodles separately and spoon them into individual soup bowls so they don't get overly done or leave the soup starchy. Thanks, Frank!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean A. November 30, 2009

Fantastic! I make this with chicken after having a roast chicken for dinner the night before. I omit the peas and beans and add more carrots, but it is so yummy and some real "comfort food." As an American living in the UK we cant get chicken noodle soup readily so having a great recipe to make it from scratch has been a lifesaver, and a little taste of home. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JockysGirl February 27, 2010

Excellent! I used Rescued Turkey Broth (recipe on zaar) inst ead of the water and bouillon cubes. Left out the green beans and peas due to family's preferences and added a little white wine and some thyme. This made an outstanding soup and will be my new Thanksgiving leftover soup from now on. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!!! (Gobble, gobble)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious November 25, 2009

So fabulous! I even made this without the turkey carcass and used chicken stock for the base. I added 6 cloves of minced garlic and satuee'd the garlic, onion, celery and carrot in a bit of EVOO before adding to the boiling stock. I made pasta on the side (so I could keep the leftovers from getting starchy) and I omitted the green peas and green beans (hate them!) and upped the other veggies. I used leftover turkey meat. PHENOMENAL and RICH! Great recipes!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl April 28, 2009

Great soup. Made half a recipe, used homemade angel hair pasta. So good with all the veggies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 30, 2014

I'm not a soup maker normally, but decided to make this after grilling a turkey this past weekend. I used a combination of mesquite and cherry to add some smoke to the turkey. I think this is one of the best soups I've ever had in my life! It would be great with "regular" leftover turkey, but the subtle smokiness just brings it to a whole new level.<br/><br/>Will definitely make again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Man42 November 05, 2013

Very easy and tasty. I actually made my own favorite turkey broth (just using salt, no bouillion), then added the veggies, leftover turkey and gluten-free noodles. I wasn't sure if I would like the butter-flour roux, but it added just the right amount of thickness and butter flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks July 31, 2013

This soup was fabulous! I omitted the flour/butter as I was afraid it would thicken it too much for my taste. I loved it! My 15 year old son, who usually grunts and groans when I make something new, loved it as well. Thank you for the recipe Frank!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connie.molloy January 17, 2012

This was such a good soup. I made it after Thanksgiving for my family. They just raved over it. Had many compliments. Thanks for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn December 02, 2011
Turkey Noodle Soup