13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy to make and great for after Thanksgiving turkey left overs. This makes a lot of soup and is very good with homemade noodles. The taste will depend on how your turkey was made. Mine was brined and apple wood smoked so it gave the soup a wonderful taste.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Mehr December 04, 2002

I used this recipe for leftover turkey. It was DELICIOUS! I just halfed the recipe, used chicken broth instead of water, and kept all the noodles...very hearty. My family loved it so much that I intend to try it out with chicken too! Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda K Miller January 01, 2003

Awesome soup recipe. I used the carcass of a hotel style turkey breast (includes the wings) and the broth was wonderful. I did add one 12.5 oz. can of chicken broth just in case. Followed recipe to a "T" except I realized too late that I was out of celery, so I used some celery salt, also used peas with pearl onions and wide egg noodles. I am not good at making soup and this turned out great. Even my soup hating husband raved about it. Pretty easy too! Thanks for sharing! I am going to use this for chicken soup also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= September 30, 2003

Just wonderful! This is now my very favorite turkey soup recipe -- simple and savory with just the right amount of noodles. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paula5 August 16, 2003

Great! I used 3 quarts of chicken stock plus about 2 cups water. No extra salt. I used 12 oz package of medium egg noodles (recipe called for more like 8 oz).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Waverly November 26, 2012

I used this recipe a couple days after Christmas to use up our leftover turkey. It hit the spot for everyone on a cold winters night! I did add extra celery and carrots and extra seasonings like thyme and a bit of dill. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alkaloidqueen January 03, 2008

This was very easy to make! The taste is a little bland but I wasn't feeling very good so it hit the spot. I left out the celery only because I don't like cooked celery. I was the only one home so I will be freezing this soup for later. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki Kate November 06, 2007

I love the easy directions and preperation of this soup. Not to mention it tastes fantastic. Also, being able to use the carcass and make Thanksgiving last even longer is an added bonus. The perfect heart-warming food for a chilly day. Thanks Aroostook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ December 02, 2006

I am so sorry to give such a low rating but this did not work at all for me. I had a lot of meat left on a 20 lb. carcus that I had made the day before, I followed the recipe exactly and after an hour only had hot water, it smelled wonderful so I let it keep simmering for another couple of hours and it is still flavorless, I saved it because I hate to waste that much food so I will be adding a LOT of chicken stock to it to hopefuly salvage. I am sorry this did not work for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caligurl March 22, 2006

What a great soup!! I used small macaroni noodles, added three potatoes, and a can of whole tomatoes. We had cajun turkey, so the soup came out very spicy. It is also great right now to fight my cold. Absolutely delicious and I will make it again. Thank you for a great recipe Aroostook!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amerasia December 01, 2005
Turkey Noodle Soup