16 Reviews

This is everything you want in a meatloaf--tender, juicy, and flavorful. I made a few changes(olive oil instead of canola, half and half instead of heavy cream, and I left out the sun-dried tomatoes). I wasn't sure how I was going to like the sauce, but it was a great compliment to the meatloaf, and a nice change from my usual ketchup. I will absolutely make this again.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maiya October 01, 2002

What a nice dish, not the same same ole, same ole. nice blend of flavors and well worth the prep time to make it.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Hixson October 07, 2002

I used evaporated skim milk instead of whipping cream in order to cut the calories. The meatloaf was quite good, a little soft in texture but made good sandwiches when cold. The sauce wasn't great, maybe due to the switch in milk. Just a plain creamy horseradish would be fine with me. Preshy

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay January 24, 2003

This was delish! I would've given 4 1/2 stars. It did take a little bit of time. Made a few changes: had no rosemary, used roasted red peppers instead of sun-dried tomatoes (personal preference), also used an 5 italian cheese italian shreds (it's what I had). The sauce was a wonderful accompaniment; although could have used more horseradish (and I don't like things really hot). Thanks much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sekake September 06, 2013

The first time I had this meatloaf was at a friend's for dinner. I was hooked. I've been making it ever since. It is a favorite at our house now. It is very easy to put together and love that you can freeze one loaf for later. I saute the veggie/herb mix in the morning and leave it on the stove to cool until I am ready to make the meatloaf later. I sub half-n-half for the heavy cream in the meatloaf too. I also sometimes use a bottled horseradish sandwich sauce in place of the sauce featured in the recipe. Tastes equally as nice and very convenient.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catpurrson April 30, 2010

Followed the recipe to a T but I cooked it at 435F in a Romertopf Clay Pot for 70 minutes. Didn't have sun-dried tomatoes, so I used roasted red peppers, as suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Regina W. September 23, 2014

This was outstanding!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shawn.mouton January 09, 2010

Absolutely amazing turkey meatloaf! I'm on a diet and wanted to find a good substitute for regular meatloaf. I used half and half rather than heavy cream, which makes a big difference in the fat content of the meal without changing the flavor. The sauce was a great compliment to the meatloaf; 3 tbsp was the perfect amount of horseradish without overpowering. I will definitely be making this dish in the future!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrunkFrack October 15, 2009

WOW!!!! What a wonderful meatloaf, this is the best meatloaf I have ever made. Left overs you can forget about that the family made sure nothing was left. The only thing that I did not follow was the celery but thats just because we really dont like it. Thanks for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bet0625 August 03, 2009

3 teaspoons, rather than 3 tablesppons, was PLENTY of horseradish. It held together wonderfully. And my husband would certainly have given it 5 stars. The kids and I, however, have to give it a 4. Maybe I'll try baking the sauce on top next time, like someone else on here did by mistake (with great results). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanniedbc October 17, 2008
Turkey Meatloaf with Creamy Horseradish Sauce