13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I like the use of salsa instead of ketchup, but I agree with another reviewer that the breadcrumbs were a bit much. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp April 10, 2013

I made this meatloaf and while it had a good flavor the bread crumbs made it taste like stuffing. I will try again using only 1/2 cup of bread crumbs.

Zen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zenwilliams February 10, 2013

Excellent! So moist and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using Barbeque sauce to top the meatloaf instead of salsa because I did not have any this time. Will try with the salsa the next time. Keeper recipe.
Update: This is my go to meatloaf recipe. The last time I skipped the milk and used 1/2 cup of Italian bread crumb and I love the texture of the meatloaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB July 19, 2011

Dee-lish!!! However....suggest you cut the recipe in half, and add salsa not only on top, but in the mixture as well. I will definitely make this recipe again, but will add shredded cheese into the mix....i think that was the only thing that was missing. It was a hit with my boyfriend, who is THE fussiest eater on earth :-) Oh - and I also added some minced garlic with the onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lunenburgsuzy February 15, 2011

Was looking for a different version of turkey meatloaf and decided to make this because of the ingredients and all of the good reviews. This meatloaf is very tasty and the spinach really adds something to it. I used rice milk in place of the milk and I did not use the butter. I baked it in one regualar size loaf pan and one mini loaf pan. I will definately be making this again! Thank you SweetySJD for this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carwashgirl January 08, 2011

Great base recipe. I was out of onion so I used a packet of Lipton onion and mushroom soup mix instead. I also substituted Japanese panko for the bread crumbs (I live in Japan so it's easier to find) and added grated zucchini and carrot and chopped mushroom and black olives. Yummy and so moist. Both people that tried it already asked for the recipie. This will definitely be made again with trying different veggies. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriandtreyinjapan November 14, 2010

Very good! I divided the meat mixture into two portions and baked them in two 9x5-inch loaf pans - one for dinner and one for the freezer. I topped each with 1/2 cup salsa for a total of 1 cup for the whole recipe. Will definitely be making this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva February 02, 2008

I made this for a dinner party, IT WAS A TOTAL HIT! Thank you for posting. I did substitute the canola oil with olive oil, I used light soy milk instead of low fat regular milk and I skipped the butter part.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessicaWabbit October 10, 2007

Good stuff! I always wanted to try a spinach meatloaf. What a great taste. Instead of using the full amount of soft breadcrumbs, I used half the amount of dried whole wheat panko crumbs. Worked out very well. Thanks Sweety!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear September 12, 2007

This was really nice - a change from ground beef meatloaf. Lots of comments from the family about the salsa topping. They really liked this. I actually used a whole cup of salsa rather than half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DJoy July 30, 2007
Turkey Meatloaf