132 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these with spaghetti tonight. Very simple, tasty recipe. For once, I had everything pretty much on hand. I did have to use dried parsley, but the meatballs were darn tasty. I baked them at 400 for 30 minutes, as many reviewers suggested, then simmered them with the sauce for about 10 minutes, just to be sure they were coated and warmed through. Delicious, moist meatballs, I will make them again. Thanks, Bergy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 April 15, 2010

Much much much easier when done in the oven. Kids love it. Normally I just boiled them but wanted to try something different; definitely a little more painstaking, but a good change of pace. The children described it as being "good and chewy." I didn't have bread crumbs but opted for toasting 4 slices of wheat bread and putting them through the food processor. Wasn't daring enough to use quick oats as someone else had done - maybe next time. I was cooking a bigger batch (2 pounds) but I kept the onion powder down to a minimum - around 1/2 teaspoon and it turned out OK. Didn't have parsley so I used dried oregano instead. Doubled everything else e.g. eggs, salt, pepper, etc. Used garlic powder instead to keep things simple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffkins March 15, 2010

DElicious!!!! Hunny loved it, so it is a keeper! Cooked in the slow cooker on low for four hours instead of pan frying. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisagetti March 01, 2010

Very tasty meatballs! I made a half recipe of these in a pinch with some leftover ground turkey. I didn't have an onion, so I used dried minced onions, which worked just fine. I was also out of oregano, so I used a bit of crushed rosemary. Other than those two substitutions, I followed the recipe exactly. I will be making these again! Very nice and good for you, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiekatie February 17, 2010

I had an odd assortment of ingredients, so here are the changes I made: breadcrumbs>multigrain crackers oregano>half oregano, half basil 2 tbsp parmesan parsley>1.5 tsp dried parsley 1/4 cup onion>1/2 cup onion I tried cooking them two ways: according to the directions then added marinara to cook them through, and by another reviewer's advice to bake them at 400 for 30 min. My oven might be different than others and actually at a higher temp than most, but I found that they turned out to be more tender and moist when browned stovetop with sauce. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungry hungry sharon January 30, 2010

Love this recipe! I substituted cornflake crumbs for the bread crumbs and onion powder for the chopped onions. I only got 18 meatballs out of 1.4lb.s of turkey. No biggey. My family devoured these meatballs, they had a wonderful texture, they were tender and not too big ( i used a melon baller to portion them). I took another reviewers advice and baked them for 30 mins. Thanks for this recipe it will be a staple in my cook book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shawna130 January 07, 2010

This was a yummy recipe. I added spices according to directions. We like soft meatballs so I just put the uncooked meatballs in spaghetti sauce and simmer for about an hour. It can either be served over spaghetti or for a diet friendly alternative over spaghetti squash

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
904713 December 20, 2009

I just tried this recipe tonight, wow, who knew a few simple ingredients could produce such a delicious tasting meatball. I was skeptical about how they would taste because I am used to beef meatballs but these were fantastic. I added a little parmesan cheese to the mixture and baked them on parchment paper for 30 min at 400 turning once half way thru. I made about 14 meatballs. Thanks for posting this,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reggie's Mom November 26, 2009

Good recipe. I used powdered onion and garlic and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. I'll serve with marinara sauce and spaghetti. And split the batch and use the second half in another dinner with rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelAnn in Japan November 10, 2009

I've been making this recipe for at least a year. I use a large cookie scoop and bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. They always come out perfect, I throw them in the freezer and give them to my 3 year old for lunch. He loves them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matty21 November 09, 2009
Turkey Meatballs