129 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty meatballs! I made a half recipe of these in a pinch with some leftover ground turkey. I didn't have an onion, so I used dried minced onions, which worked just fine. I was also out of oregano, so I used a bit of crushed rosemary. Other than those two substitutions, I followed the recipe exactly. I will be making these again! Very nice and good for you, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiekatie February 17, 2010

I had an odd assortment of ingredients, so here are the changes I made: breadcrumbs>multigrain crackers oregano>half oregano, half basil 2 tbsp parmesan parsley>1.5 tsp dried parsley 1/4 cup onion>1/2 cup onion I tried cooking them two ways: according to the directions then added marinara to cook them through, and by another reviewer's advice to bake them at 400 for 30 min. My oven might be different than others and actually at a higher temp than most, but I found that they turned out to be more tender and moist when browned stovetop with sauce. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungry hungry sharon January 30, 2010

Love this recipe! I substituted cornflake crumbs for the bread crumbs and onion powder for the chopped onions. I only got 18 meatballs out of 1.4lb.s of turkey. No biggey. My family devoured these meatballs, they had a wonderful texture, they were tender and not too big ( i used a melon baller to portion them). I took another reviewers advice and baked them for 30 mins. Thanks for this recipe it will be a staple in my cook book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shawna130 January 07, 2010

This was a yummy recipe. I added spices according to directions. We like soft meatballs so I just put the uncooked meatballs in spaghetti sauce and simmer for about an hour. It can either be served over spaghetti or for a diet friendly alternative over spaghetti squash

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
904713 December 20, 2009

I just tried this recipe tonight, wow, who knew a few simple ingredients could produce such a delicious tasting meatball. I was skeptical about how they would taste because I am used to beef meatballs but these were fantastic. I added a little parmesan cheese to the mixture and baked them on parchment paper for 30 min at 400 turning once half way thru. I made about 14 meatballs. Thanks for posting this,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reggie's Mom November 26, 2009

Good recipe. I used powdered onion and garlic and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. I'll serve with marinara sauce and spaghetti. And split the batch and use the second half in another dinner with rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelAnn in Japan November 10, 2009

I've been making this recipe for at least a year. I use a large cookie scoop and bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. They always come out perfect, I throw them in the freezer and give them to my 3 year old for lunch. He loves them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matty21 November 09, 2009

very good recipe and easy to make. I did bake the meatballs and the aroma was wonderful. thank you for a great recipe. Had to add.... Since last week I have made 3 additional batches as NONE have made it to the freezer as I originally intended. Everyone LOVES them. Shared the recipe with a friend and her two teenage sons gobbled them up. I did make one batch using italian style ground turkey. Other than doing that I have not changed the recipe at all. It is wonderful as it. Thank you for sharing!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Santa girl November 07, 2009

Printed recipe and made meatballs within the hour, for company tomorrow. In a word they are SUPER! I like onion flavouring but not crunchy bits so I grate it to make a pulp. Used only 1/4 breadcrumbs to cut carbs and 1 tbsp parsley flakes as I did not have fresh on hand. Also used 20 oz. pkg of ground turkey. What a great recipe, think I'll make another batch this weekend and freeze them. Oven tip for baking was terrific idea, I put them on lightly sprayed wax paper for ease of clean up. THANK YOU!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxerMum7 September 25, 2009

I tried this recipe just the other day on my boyfriend. I did not tell him that it was turkey. He really liked them, I ended up telling him that they were indeed turkey, not beef and he was surprised! I fried them this time but think they might be even better baked, which I will do the next time I make them.....Great recipe for turkey and such an Italian taste! Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
back2charris September 12, 2009
Turkey Meatballs