9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good sandwich and easy to prepare. A good alternative for leftover ham.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whampteach2020 March 15, 2011

So good and so simple! I used Jarlesburg cheese instead of swiss, as it is what I had on hand. Quick and easy lunch or dinner. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe July 15, 2009

I used regular ranch dressing (Renees). I used baguette bread. I used 1 slice of pickle, but we won't add it again for another time. It's delicious, great flavors. Thanks Lainey. Made for Zaar Star game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 06, 2009

This made for a great lunch!! Grilled them in the George Foreman grill and didn't add any butter. We loved it!! Thanks lainey! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie October 18, 2008

I made this exactly as written using honey-ham that I'd previously cooked and sliced deli-thin and "stackers" pickles. I agree with the poster "Sarah_Jayne" who said it was like a twist on a Reuben. I sliced my sourdough about 3/4" thick and cooked on a flat griddle at 300 degrees. Fabulous, tasty sandwich. I'll be keeping this to use up those little left-overs. I had it with about a cup of tomato soup. It was more than filling and oh, so satisfying. (We worry about the body's ability to asimilate real food here, not carbs, fats, calories, etc.) Balance of diet over time. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoeleenCleary September 16, 2008

There wasn't a thing about this sandwich that I didn't like. To me it was sort of like a new twist on a ruben and I am a big fan of those. I used your own light buttermilk ranch dressing recipe for this and it worked well. I had to use wholemeal bread because sourdough is really hard to get in the UK. I used reduced fat cheese and used my foreman grill so that I could skip buttering the bread. That combined with using the light ranch dressing meant this wasn't high in fat or calories at all. Made for PAC Fall 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne September 16, 2008

OMG...so very good. DH and I loved this sanwich. Wished I had made more. I used Marbled Rye because I did not have Sourdough on hand. This has been added to my cookbooks. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JCC July 01, 2008

We thought these were really good, and only gave them 4 stars because we wish they weren't so high in calories, fat, and carbs. It is a great combo however and the peppered ranch really gives it that "something else". Our sourdough slices were very large so we did need a tad bit more ranch to cover them. And for the meats and cheese we just put as much as we thought would be good so I am not sure how much we used. We did use margarine on ours as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer April 02, 2008

Really good combination. I really liked the addition of the peppery ranch dressing. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. February 27, 2008
Turkey, Ham & Swiss Grilled Cheese