26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I sauteed the giblets and vegetables before adding water to bring out the flavors, and discarded the giblets after the gravy was done instead of using it, but it turned out to be a rich, creamy gravy that everyone enjoyed! Great recipe!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spaceace December 25, 2002

Having read the recipe and the reviews, I was able to make the best gravy I've ever had (and the 15 guests felt the same way ... this recipe is now in 4 other household's recipe books!). I roasted the giblets (thanks, spaceace!) prior to covering them with chicken broth (thanks, chef #1267399). I did remove the giblet meat and puree it and the veg into the liquid (after defatting). All this was done while the turkey was cooking, so there was no additional net cooking time until step 14, when the turkey comes out of the oven and you incorporate the drippings. Even then, there's no added net time, because the gravy prep goes on while the turkey is resting ... In short, great results, great detailed instructions, and not just a keeper recipe, but THE gravy recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Thanks, Derf!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gandalf The White November 30, 2009

This is my basic method except I use carrots, onion, celery and gizzards in chicken stock instead of water. I let that simmer on low most of the day and use this to expand my gravy once the fat has been skimmed off of the pan juices. More flavorful than water! I discard most of the gizzards but use the livers chopped very fine and add to the gravy. This year I'm excited to have found Turkey stock from the same company whose chicken stock I'd used before. Update: The Turkey stock is even better. Available on Amazon.com or Nob Hill markets in
Northern California. The company is Kitchen Basics. Enjoy! Oh and one more tip:
one year we lost both pans of turkey drippings because they burned and were unuseable. Be sure to keep about 1 inch of water in the bottom of the roasting pan throughout cooking. This
will prevent the drippings from burning.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
speschel2000 November 02, 2012

Good recipe. The first time I made it I did make the mistake of adding maybe too many giblets. We had slaughtered our own turkey, and I was a bit excited about saving every giblet. It ended up tasting too much like organ meat. The second go round I omitted liver and kidneys, and it was much better! Thanks for this recipe, I'll keep making it every time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H-grrl December 15, 2008

I cooked this on my stove top rather than in the oven because I had made my turkey the day before (saving my broth for giblet gravy) and cleaned up the aftermath. In doing it this way, I found that I had to keep adding flour to get it to thicken. I did this a total of three seperate times, each time returning a portion of my gravy to the blender and blending the flour and then adding it back to the broth on the stove top. Eventually, it thickened up to just the right consistency. My entire family raved about it and I personally loved it and will definitely use this every thanksgiving going forward. Bravo. Thanks for a most awesome giblet gravy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Domestic Diva November 27, 2008

Derf, the giblets were removed from the bird, (neck, gizzard, heart and liver) and your recipe for preparation followed. The giblets were simmering while turkey baked when the 18 lb. organic turkey was cooked the little red button popped out and I knew it was time to prepare the gravy. Because of the size of the bird, Derf, I had quite a lot of juice for gravy. You see I cooked the turkey in a very large LOOK cooking bag. It cuts cooking time by half, and the meat is ever so tender and moist. These juices were added to your recipe which resulted in about 2 quarts of gravy. Because I had added a handful of dried cranberries to the turkey, prior to roasting, during the cooking process the cranberries transferred to the sauce. What a tasty flavour ensued... A beautiful colour, with the tartness of cranberries sweetened by the natural organic juices of the turkey, made for a wonderful, blend. .... As it happened there was plenty of turkey and chicken left overs. What better way to use up left overs than with good rich, tasty, creamy gravy..... (I use half and half as a liquid to thicken turkey gravy). As you instructed, Derf, the gravy was indeed the last thing served because it was very hot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOOLBELT DIVA October 12, 2005

My mother ALWAYS made this gravy for Thanksgiving and Christmas....however, the giblets, heart and neck were removed from the final product so the family cat could have a wee taste of the holidays too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern_Reflectionz October 10, 2005

Very tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brianl November 29, 2003
Turkey Giblet Gravy