Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Giblet Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Giblet Gravy

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2002

      I sauteed the giblets and vegetables before adding water to bring out the flavors, and discarded the giblets after the gravy was done instead of using it, but it turned out to be a rich, creamy gravy that everyone enjoyed! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

    • on November 30, 2009

      Having read the recipe and the reviews, I was able to make the best gravy I've ever had (and the 15 guests felt the same way ... this recipe is now in 4 other household's recipe books!). I roasted the giblets (thanks, spaceace!) prior to covering them with chicken broth (thanks, chef #1267399). I did remove the giblet meat and puree it and the veg into the liquid (after defatting). All this was done while the turkey was cooking, so there was no additional net cooking time until step 14, when the turkey comes out of the oven and you incorporate the drippings. Even then, there's no added net time, because the gravy prep goes on while the turkey is resting ... In short, great results, great detailed instructions, and not just a keeper recipe, but THE gravy recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Thanks, Derf!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      This is my basic method except I use carrots, onion, celery and gizzards in chicken stock instead of water. I let that simmer on low most of the day and use this to expand my gravy once the fat has been skimmed off of the pan juices. More flavorful than water! I discard most of the gizzards but use the livers chopped very fine and add to the gravy. This year I'm excited to have found Turkey stock from the same company whose chicken stock I'd used before. Update: The Turkey stock is even better. Available on Amazon.com or Nob Hill markets in
      Northern California. The company is Kitchen Basics. Enjoy! Oh and one more tip:
      one year we lost both pans of turkey drippings because they burned and were unuseable. Be sure to keep about 1 inch of water in the bottom of the roasting pan throughout cooking. This
      will prevent the drippings from burning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Good recipe. The first time I made it I did make the mistake of adding maybe too many giblets. We had slaughtered our own turkey, and I was a bit excited about saving every giblet. It ended up tasting too much like organ meat. The second go round I omitted liver and kidneys, and it was much better! Thanks for this recipe, I'll keep making it every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      I cooked this on my stove top rather than in the oven because I had made my turkey the day before (saving my broth for giblet gravy) and cleaned up the aftermath. In doing it this way, I found that I had to keep adding flour to get it to thicken. I did this a total of three seperate times, each time returning a portion of my gravy to the blender and blending the flour and then adding it back to the broth on the stove top. Eventually, it thickened up to just the right consistency. My entire family raved about it and I personally loved it and will definitely use this every thanksgiving going forward. Bravo. Thanks for a most awesome giblet gravy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      Derf, the giblets were removed from the bird, (neck, gizzard, heart and liver) and your recipe for preparation followed. The giblets were simmering while turkey baked when the 18 lb. organic turkey was cooked the little red button popped out and I knew it was time to prepare the gravy. Because of the size of the bird, Derf, I had quite a lot of juice for gravy. You see I cooked the turkey in a very large LOOK cooking bag. It cuts cooking time by half, and the meat is ever so tender and moist. These juices were added to your recipe which resulted in about 2 quarts of gravy. Because I had added a handful of dried cranberries to the turkey, prior to roasting, during the cooking process the cranberries transferred to the sauce. What a tasty flavour ensued... A beautiful colour, with the tartness of cranberries sweetened by the natural organic juices of the turkey, made for a wonderful, blend. .... As it happened there was plenty of turkey and chicken left overs. What better way to use up left overs than with good rich, tasty, creamy gravy..... (I use half and half as a liquid to thicken turkey gravy). As you instructed, Derf, the gravy was indeed the last thing served because it was very hot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      My mother ALWAYS made this gravy for Thanksgiving and Christmas....however, the giblets, heart and neck were removed from the final product so the family cat could have a wee taste of the holidays too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      Very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      This turned out perfectly! It had an almost "beefiness" to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      This is almost the same way I've made my turkey gravy for years. However,... I'll boil the liver with the rest of the giblets, but do not put it in the final preperation. (it goes to the dog). The liver itself, will flavor the gravy, so if you're not a fan, leave it out, (hence the 4 star rating). Otherwise, I make the gravy as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I served this gravy for Thanksgiving and it was extraordinary. Very flavorful and smooth, with a rich, creamy texture. Every single person at the table said it was the best they ever had. This will replace Grandma's old recipe from now on. Sorry, Grandma. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Simple and delicious. Great instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Absolutely Delicious!! I always suck at gravy making. This was sooo easy and sooo good. Thank u so much for poting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      FABULOUS! My new gravy recipe...very flavorful and easy to make. Cooked this on my stove top instead of in the oven w/ great results. Great with roasted garlic mashed potatoes and on our Thanksgiving stuffing. This one is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This recipe has an awesome flavor and produces a great deal of gravy. Because of the way we like to prepare our turkey, we don't get a lot of leftover drippings for making gravy. This recipe generates a wonderful base that stretches the few drippings we can collect very nicely. We used rice flour instead of wheat flour, and that worked just fine. As long as we have turkey giblets around, this will be our standard turkey gravy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Wow, I have been looking for something like this forever. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This is a fantastic gravy, it was my first attempt at making homemade gravy and it was much easier than I thought it would be. I also thickened everything on the stove and it worked perfectly. Thanks Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Very good gravy. I did it a little different. I cooked and thickened my gracy stove top! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Will make it again this Thankgiving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Giblet Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 37.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    12%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 9.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 13.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites