8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm a vegetarian, so I didn't get to taste it.. but my husband's response was: "WOW!" He loved it!

I assume this recipe would be best for leftovers, but since we're going to be out of town this year for Thanksgiving and won't be able to do a traditional meal, I figured I'd make this! And he loved it! Granted, it's still September.. but it will definitely hold him over until Thanksgiving 2011!

I followed the recipe, but used honey glazed turkey that was pre-cooked rather than leftovers from a big bird.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katesorad September 26, 2010

I gave this recipe 5 stars. Yummy my family loved this casserole. This is got to be one of the easiest recipes I've ever made. I got my copy of this recipe from Cornell Cooperative Extension. I actually got to ntry a sample of this recipe first and had to come home right away and make it. My copy of this recipe says use 1 pound frozen turkey, browned (may use 2 cups cooked turkey cut into small bite size pieces). The rest of the recipe is the same. Overall I will make this again! Thanks for posting a super yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut December 04, 2009

I am the only one who eats this in my family and I am glad because I don't want to share it. I have been known eat this for breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen downes August 20, 2009

Made it with Thanksgiving leftovers tonight and we all loved it. Much like a Shepard's Pie. We were low on the home-made gravy, so I got a jar of turkey gravy from the store. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan November 25, 2007

My sweetie said this was the best dinner ever! It was great to use all the holiday left overs. I will be saving this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonni November 24, 2007

This was a good, solid casserole that used up leftovers from a turkey dinner. I had run out of dressing, so used a box of Stoffers and made up fresh broccoli and carrots. It was fast and easy to prepare. My SIL was over for dinner and loved it! I would do this casserole again to finish up leftovers. Thanks for the posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 09, 2012

Only 4 stars because I didn't use all the gravy -- just a personal preference. Good recipe to use your leftovers. Thanks for the recipe. Toni

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado March 22, 2010

This is awesome, would be great with real holiday leftovers! Ok, I made some variations since I didn't have the leftovers. I used a large can of chicken and a box of stove top stuffing mix, chicken flavor, jarred turkey gravy, and instant mashed potatoes! (I had the mixed veggies!) This was like shephard's pie with a different twist. Very yummy! I served with biscuits and my family gobbled it right up! Thanks for the idea for dinner! Was searching the zaar for new ideas. Will definately be making this again! ***update*** made again with boneless chicken breasts that I fried in a pan with about 1/2 cup of water. Doubled the recipe this time because I had more chicken, baked it in a 9x13 pan and family ate most of it that night. It made great leftovers! (what survived the night) You really need to try this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dissie October 22, 2008
Turkey Dinner Casserole