Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Chowder

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-74 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2006

      I loved this. I added one more cup of turkey broth and next time I will definitely double the recipe because it only makes 8 servings if they are half a cup each. DH said it tasted to flour-y, but he's really picky and crazy. It was perfect. Great way to use that left over turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      Mmmmmm! Definitely a keeper! I substituted shallots for the green onions and also added chopped broccoli. I used evaporated milk instead of half and half and a couple of cans of chicken broth since I'd already thrown out the turkey carcass. We had a little leftover gravy, so I tossed in a few tablespoons for flavor. This was a wonderful meal to come home to on a cold day! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      Made this from my leftover Thanksgiving turkey. It was a pretty good soup. Didn't make any changes to the recipe. Thanks barefootcountrygirl. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      I ran out of leftover turkey so I used some chicken breasts instead. I used a mixture of the chicken broth and chicken bouillon and it came out very nice =). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      YUM!!!!! We loved this soup!!! I did add a little more chicken broth and 3 medium size potatoes and WOW. Will definitely make again and forwarded this recipe to a couple of my friends as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This was sooo good! I made this in about 20 minutes, very simple, with ingredients I already had. Mu hubby and I enjoyed every bite! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This was just delicious. I only made half the recipe because there was just two of us, and I did add a little corn. Also I didn't have green onion so I used a shallot. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      We always have smoked turkey for Thanksgiving, and the leftovers really worked well in this recipe. The smoky flavor of the meat was wonderful in the chowder! I doubled the recipe and substituted milk in place of half of the half-and-half. And like some of the other reviewers, I also added some diced potato. Delicious--and easy to make. You can't beat that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      Gone are the days of the standard turkey sandwich. Hellooooo Turkey Chowder!!! This is a truly wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      I was so thrilled with this recipe, I took pictures of it! :-) I didn't change a thing but I'm so happy to finally have something so tasty to use up holiday turkey. Great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      This is so much better than regular turkey soup. I minced my turkey, added some diced potatoes and supplemented the few green onions I had with a chopped yellow onion. Added about a tablespoon of dry mustard, a teaspoon of fennel seed, and increased the cayenne. Served topped with the green part of the green onions and some grated parmesan. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      I almost didn't review this, because I made the following changes; used regular onion, didn't measure anything, and added dried dill and a bit of horseradish. But this recipe was the template for a soup that everyone loved! So thank you for posting a yummy, flexible recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      Very nice soup - I did not measure the celery, carrot, onion (used 1 med.onion, 2 celery stalks & 1 lg.carrot), also just added cut up turkey till it seemed enough. Oh, and added cooked, diced potatoes and it was a great creamy soup - thanks !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      This is definitely a keeper. It is very rich so it won't be on the menu often but it is worth the indulgence. Will be saving some turkey and stock for this soup whenever I have a turkey carcass around. I had it with Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread # 24978 and it made a wonderful winter supper. The preparation was easy and the only unfortunate thing is that there weren't enough leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chowders Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.9
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    60%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 64.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 195.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turkey broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes