Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Chowder

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2004

      I improvised a bit with this- adding chopped red bell pepper, corn, a small finely chopped potato, and some other spices (primarily thyme and curry). I also used 2% milk in lieu of half-and-half, which worked just fine and added the couple Tbs of gravy that we had left over from cooking the turkey. Oh- I also used between 1 and 1.5 cups of turkey instead of two (all I had) and it was plenty, especially with the additional veggies I added. The thing I like about chowders and soups in general is that you can fiddle a lot with the recipe with excellent results. Anyhow, this is a great basic recipe and a terrific and a little non-traditional way to use up leftover turkey! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      I've had this recipe in my "to try" cookbook for SEVEN years. Finally made it last night with leftover t-day turkey and it was great. Since I suspected we'd like it just from reading the recipe, I made a double batch and am glad I did. Only changes I made were to use chopped yellow onion (didn't have any green) and added a teaspoon of garlic salt because I thought it needed more flavor (but I have a blown sinus gasket that affects my taste buds so keep that in mind:). This is definitely a keeper for us!! Thanks BFCG, wherever you are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Excellent chowder. I followed the base recipe and added finely diced potato and a big splash of white wine. I added a bit more white pepper and a dash of thyme. I used half 1% milk and finished with the half & half. I think next time I will add some green or red pepper. Pretty color, great recipe for using up that gallon of turkey broth from T'giving. Thanks for the recipe, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This rates an "Excellent" in my recipe file. The simplicity is what makes the flavor so delicious. I always try a recipe the way it is written first then, if needed, add to it when I make it again. In this case, it's great just the way it is. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Barefootcountrygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Yummy! It kind of tasted like turkey pot pie without the bread. I didn't add the celery and added peas in the last few minutes of cook time instead. I think I will try this again as a pot pie base, and throw a pie crust on top and bake it. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2004

      Yummy!!! I thought this was sooo good. What a great change from regular recipes using leftover turkey! I used fat-free half and half and it turned out perfect, a great creamy taste but a lot healthier for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      We loved this chowder! It was exactly what I was hoping it would be. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe and God Bless.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      I like my chowder to be a bit thicker, so I diced and boiled a potato (in salted water) mashed it with some of the milk' and added it to the chowder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I didn't have celery, so I used a white onion in addition to the green. I also toasted, then smashed open one tablespoon of coriander seeds and let them cook into the soup in my crockpot. Next time I'll use plain ol' cilantro, but I didn't have it on hand. Great soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      This was an absolutely fabulous use of our Thanksgiving leftovers. I only used white meat, but I am certain it would be fine with dark as well. The flavor is outstanding, it is easy to prepare, and my 6 year old and husband also loved it. My husband liked it so well he has asked several times to make sure that I have saved the recipe. The only change I would make is to use white instead of green onions, and the reason is only because my 4 year old pulls everything green out of her food. We will make this again and share the recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

    • on June 27, 2010

      This was very good. The flavor was mild but tasty. I would recommend this to someone who like be sick with a stomach ache and need something that will be easy on them. Awesome recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      This was a wonderful use for my leftover turkey. I used 1 cup half and half and about 1 cup evaporated milk. The milk might have made it a little thinner but it still tasted great. I used white pepper for the first time, think I'll just skip it and use black pepper next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      YUM !! This is a perfect addition to our 'leftover turkey' lineup. My DH said count him out, he'd just have another turkey sandwich...but ended up trying it and going back for seconds...and thirds! A big hit all around. Made pretty much per recipe, but didn't measure, just threw it all in. I added about a cup of corn too, just because I love it in chowder. And a good sprinkling of Penzey's Foxpoint seasoning, (a favorite blend of green onions, shallots, chives and green peppercorns) made it P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Very good, will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Yummy, took the advise of others and added corn, potatos, and thyme, also used 2% milk. I thawed some left over thanksgiving turkey and this was a very creative, delicious way to use it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Everybody in my family licked their bowl clean! I added a can of corn to the mix and a few spices because it was pretty bland until I did. It tasted like the filling for a turkey pot pie..yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Excellent, delicious chowder. This used up a nice portion of my remaining holiday turkey as well as some other ingredients I happened to have lying around in my kitchen, making this quite a frugal dish. The flavor is great, a really nice smooth but not too thick chowder. I made only one change, subbing about half of the half -n-half for some evaporated milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This was a great recipe for a bunch of leftover turkey. My dad was the one who initiated it when he decided to boil the meat off the turkey. We had so much that we doubled it. I couldn't find turkey broth so I used chicken broth. Thanks for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I used leftover Thanksgiving turkey and 1/2 a spanish onion instead of a green one. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chowders Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.9
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    60%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 64.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 195.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turkey broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites