Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Chorizo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Chorizo

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2014

    • on December 03, 2012

      I made the mistake of using ground turkey breast instead of ground turkey. I won't do that again! You definitely need a little bit of fat in the meat. That being said, the flavor of this chorizo was excellent! I used it to make breakfast burritos with scrambled eggs, pico de gallo, jalapeno slices, avocado chunks and pepper jack cheese. Yummy! Thanks for sharing, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Great recipe! The first time I made it I followed the recipe to the letter and it was fantastic. The next time I added a little extra garlic and some smoked paprika. I also subbed a 1 TBSP of New Mexico chili powder for 1 TBSP of the ancho powder for a different subtle kick. Thanks so much for this recipe and a great way to enjoy chorizo flavor without the fat & calories. It's awesome with eggs and a little cilantro and green onion. Just like being back home in Texas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      I love fresh chorizo, but do not love the high fat and calorie count. This was a great alternative. I cut back on the chili powder but otherwise followed the recipe. I used it in a a improvised Mexican pasta bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Wonderful flavor and much less fat. Reduced chile powder to 1 T. and omitted red pepper flakes due to allergies, but still had lots of flavor. Used, crumbled, to make burritos. Froze the extras in single servings for lunches, and that's worked well too. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Made this a couple of weeks ago and forgot to review! I let the flavors marry overnight, then browned it with onions and diced mixed peppers. Once cooked through I added beaten eggs and cooked to our liking. Then I rolled it in tortillas with pepper jack cheese and served with fresh salsa. It was absolutely delicious. (I forgot to say I only used half of the turkey and veggie mixture - froze the other half for another time)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Yummy! I have never had "regular" chorizo, but this was just great. And so versatile! While the turkey "married" the spices overnight, I mulled on how to use it. I ended up cooking it and adding 3 small diced zucchini, 6 oz mushrooms, and a drained can of fire roasted tomatoes, as well as extra spices from the recipe. The mixture is beautiful and tasty and healthy! I will serve this over fried polenta, tortillas, spaghetti squash... Thanks a million Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      The flavours in this are spot on! I didn't form into patties...instead I just cooked in a saucepan as you would a taco mince. The uses for this are endless...Taquitos, Taco's, added to scrambled eggs, a filling for quesadilla's, patties for burgers, the list goes on and on! Thanks for sharing, reviewed for the 123 Wonders game :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Loved this recipe! It is a very good substitute for bought chorizo and MUCH lower in fat and calories. It also is full of flavor. I used part of it in Chorizo and Scrambled Egg Breakfast Tacos and froze the rest in patties for a future meal. Thanks Paula! I will be making this again. Reviewed for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Chorizo

    Serving Size: 1 (531 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    44%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 31.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 228.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes