Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Brine and Injection Marinade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Brine and Injection Marinade

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2005

      I didn't use all the ingredients listed, so it would be hard for me to rate this fairly. Author did not like my no rating comment and e-mailed me accordingly. I asked our host (Recipezaar) if a comment could be retracted. They replied that it could be replaced... Therefore...I didn't use cardamom or ginger. I didn't use kosher salt or balsamic vinegar or white wine Worcestershire sauce. I didn't measure anything exactly...it gets thrown out anyway...I didn't inject the bird with anything, I just let it soak for many hours. It was a very moist turkey. We liked the flavor and it was great for sandwiches. However, any turkey that is brined is usually moist and flavorful. I liked this recipe, but next time will use #127606. (feel free to say this review was not helpful...)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      I have been using this recipe to inject my tiurkeys before frying them since 2008. Everyone who has eaten my turkey has always raved about it. I use half of the ingredients called forin the recipe. I substitute the white balsalmic vinegar with regular balsamic vinegar and white Worcestershire sauce for regular. I don not use the Cardamon. this Thanksgiving, I used all ground spices and and substituted the garlic for garlic powder and the onion for onion powder. This made injecting alot easier. I usually inject my turkeys 24 hours prior to frying. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Absolutely Awesome! This was by far the best turkey I've ever had. I've been making turkey's for Thanksgiving for 25 years and this tops the list. A little more work ahead of time, but well worth it. I let the bird marinate for 48 hours. Perfectly tender, not a dry bite in the whole bird!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This was great. Did not have white wine worchestershire sauce or white balsamic vinigar, so just used white wine vinegar instead. Marinated and injected the turkey on a Sunday, and due to circumstances did not get a chance to cook it until Thursday. It was wonderful and tender. Not salty at all. Smoked the turkey in a smoker which (for me) usually ends up dry. For Thanksgiving I will be using this on smoked turkey breasts, and on/in the regular oven cooked turkey...THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This recipe was very tasty with all the spices, even thought I forgot to add the garlic & onion! I soaked it for 48 hrs, and injected as instructed. It was super moist, but a tad too salty. Next time I'll use just 3/4 cup salt or brine 24 hrs instead. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Thanks Toby - best turkey I've ever eaten! Jim Clary

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I just tried this recipe 12/25/07 and everyone raved about how tender the turkey was but I did not have the white balsamic vinegar,white wine worcestershire,or ground cardamom. What a great recipe and I just put the 14 lb.turkey in about 3 trashbags in the fridge and rolled it around after injecting 24 hrs. Really tender and juicey. Cooked on the grill!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      We made our first deep fried turkey this year and used this as our brine/marinade. It was delicious! We didn't have the white wine worcestershire or white balsamic vinegar so we just omitted it. Also, we only marinated for about 8 hours and it was extremely flavorful, in fact, I'm not sure I would marinate it any longer if using the refrigerator method rather than the ice chest method. We have an extra fridge, so there was no need to add the ice which dilutes the flavor a bit. Thanks for posting Toby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This recipe made my first Thanksgiving turkey a huge success!!! Everybody went back for thirds on the Turkey and it was so juicy. It was a lot easier to make than I thought and I didn't soak the turkey in it, just injected it into the meat. Definitely will make again. Thanks for making my first cooking Thanksgiving a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Fantastic!!, I used Garam Marsala instead of the Creole Seasoning and brine it in the fridge for about 24 hours I Roasted it in a convection oven for about 3 hours 10 minutes on 500° then 325° for the rest. It was the best turkey I have ever made excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      This was only my second attempt at frying a turkey, but it was easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception. I had all the ingredients on hand, except white wine Worcestershire sauce, for which i substituted white wine and Worcestershire sauce. I followed the injection instructions exactly and marinated for about 30 hours. Brought it to room temperature, swabbed it down to make it bone dry and dropped it in the oil. It was a hit, everyone raved. The best one I ever made and hands down the best turkey I ever put in my mouth. Even the cold leftovers filled the room with its yummy aroma. This will become my traditional recipe because it is turkey heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Brine and Injection Marinade

    Serving Size: 1 (1165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 936.4
     
    Calories from Fat 394
    42%
    Total Fat 43.8 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 370.4 mg
    123%
    Sodium 11717.0 mg
    488%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 112.0 g
    224%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white balsamic vinegar

    white wine worcestershire sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes