Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Brine

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2010

      I am getting ready for Thanksgiving again this year and had to find the brine recipe that I used last year because it made THE MOST INCREDIBLE TURKEY THAT I HAVE EVER TASTED! Well, this is the one! We used Kosher salt and brown sugar and also added minced garlic, a little bit of thyme and some rosemary and let it soak for 18 hours total. I took a plate of leftovers to my dad last year and he loved the turkey so much that he is coming to our house this year for Thanksgiving dinner. And last year was the first time that I had ever cooked a turkey in my life! The only thing that I have to say is MAKE SURE YOU RINSE THE TURKEY WELL! I did not pay attention to that step and my stuffing got REALLY salty, but it was my own dumb fault. Thank you for posting this. I will never make a turkey another way so long as I live!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I have used this brine as a base several times now and love it! Usually when I make chicken I marinate it overnight so it has a chance to take on some flavor, but this is so much quicker! For chicken pieces I only marinate for an hour and a half since it was a little salty for my taste the first time I tried it (at 2 hours). I usually replace half the water with beer and might try it with wine next. I also add in some garlic cloves, black peppercorns, fresh rosemary or other herbs from my garden...makes the most flavorful and moist chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      My Christmas turkey tasted great! I let my bird sit in the brine, in a stockpot, overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Wow! Decided to try this recipe on a turkey breast. I've never brined before but now I'm hooked. The turkey is so moist and tasty. Amazing! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Very good! And Easy!!! I also doubled the brine for a 16 pound turkey. So very moist!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      We loved this! It was delicious! My brother, who is a trained chef, was even complimentary of my turkey! High praise, indeed. :)This will become a standard at our Thanksgiving table. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      I have never brined a turkey before, but I think I will from now on. The turkey breast, which usually comes out a little dry for me, was so moist and tender using this brine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      Soo moist! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      OK i like

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I tried this turkey brine for the first time this year, in fact this is my first brined turkey. What a delicious turkey, my husband and I said this is by far the most tender turkey we have ever eaten, not to mention flavorful. I have been giving everyone copies for their own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This really did turn out perfect. I did it overnight and I doubled the recipe because I had a 26 pound turkey. I did inject it with cajun butter, but the meat was just perfect. It was moist and VERY juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I used this recipe for my Thanksgiving turkey and this was by far the best turkey ever. It was so moist and juicy that everyone complimented it. I had a 16lb turkey and of course there was not enough liquid. I put the turkey in the brine Tuesday evening, so Wedneday morning I flipped the turkey over so the other side could get brined. Wednesday night before bed I flipped it back over. I had the turkey in the two roasting bags so they were easy to flip. I rinsed it really well before baking, then baked it at 500 degrees for 30 minutes, per Alton Brown. It was nice and brown in thirty minutes. I then turned the heat down to 350 and roasted the rest of the way. I covered the breast after the first 30 minutes, then uncovered it for the last 30 minutes. It was brown all over and the skin was nice and crispy. It was a tad salty, but not too salty. I basted it throughout cooking, which is most likely the reason for the salty taste. This is the best turkey I have ever made and I have been making turkey for 20 years now. This is a keeper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      First time I brined, and will be brining from now on. I pre made the brine one day before the turkey needed to go in, and put the brine in the refridgerator to make sure it was cool enough to put turkey in. That way I didn't have to wait for it to cool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I did a practice run last night on a chicken that I had planned to roast. I didn't brine the chicken as long as I would have liked (everybody was hungry) but this was hands down the best chicken I have ever roasted. Easy and delicious and I can't wait to use it this Thanksgiving for our turkey. I added thyme and peppercorns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Fantastic! I had never brined a turkey before, but I will from now on with this super easy recipe. I added seasonings such as onion powder, garlic powder, thyme, peppercorns and basil. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Best turkey ever, really easy to do and the results speak for themselves. I will never cook turkey again without brining it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Used this for a turkey and it was great..will never make a turkey unless I do this first- very moist. Used again this year on the turkey- amazing how moist this makes the bird. Also used it on chicken breast- I will never bake another chicken breast unless it was brined- awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Easy method and turned out a delicious moist turkey with lots of flavor! Thanks Ameatlanta

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Easy method and it works! My turkey wasn't quite defrosted and sitting in the brine overnight insured it was defrosted in time. I bought a 5 pound turkey breast and was able to use a gallon size zip plastic bag. Next time I would like to try the brown sugar. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 495.0
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    44%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 205.8 mg
    68%
    Sodium 6487.3 mg
    270%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 61.8 g
    123%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes