33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used your Rescued Turkey Stock # 24576 and this was the best soup ever. The next day when the soup was a little thicker we had it over rice. Wonderful recipe

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippy October 04, 2002

Excellent turkey soup. I cut back on the mushrooms a bit and added equivalent amounts of onions, carrot and celery - my kids aren't big mushroom fans. The barley gives it a wonderful wholesomeness. Thanks again Lennie for another great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario November 09, 2002

This is a great soup. I did all the Thanksgiving cooking this year, so my wife returned the favor by making a double recipe of this soup with some of the left overs. She added an extra rib or two of celery and cut the mushrooms back to 5 cups because it seemed like enough and it was. She also added a little extra turkey because we had plenty. The soup is wonderful and gets even better with reheating. We froze a bunch of it to enjoy later.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brianl November 30, 2003

May a Big pot added seeded hot peppers went over great

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thomas Earnest April 15, 2005

Made this last weekend with using your stock. The only mistake I made was I had 4 cups of turkey left over and I used it all and it made to much meat. Loved the broth I did sub Balsamic vinegar as I didn't have red wine vingar. DH loved the soup too but said it needed a little more barley.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheryl1 pedersen December 07, 2003

Wonderful flavors. Whole family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 02, 2003

only reason why it is not 5 stars is because I'd prefer chicken to turkey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes December 07, 2014

Delicious!!! I used leftover chicken and chicken stock. I loved how thick this became. We had it for Saturday night dinner along with corn muffins. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty May 18, 2014

This is the second year making this recipe. It is wonderful. We do increase the barley so that the soup is a little more filling, but that is just a personal preference. Love the addition of a little tomato paste to help vary the leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gunnerbun December 02, 2013
Turkey-Barley Soup