Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Apple Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Apple Burgers

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2004

      Wow, these were great!! I used only half the onion and apple and didn't tell my family it was ground turkey with apples. Even my picky children liked them. Oiling the pan is not necessary as the meat had enough moisture for the cooking process. This recipe is going into my family recipe box. Thanks for the great and different idea!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Easy to make. I grated the apple in my salad shooter. I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and cooked the onion, garlic, and celery in a little water until wilted. Everyone in my family raved about these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      These were different and very yummy! I used a Braeburn apple instead of a mac, and had to use celery salt (and omit the regular salt) instead of the chopped celery because at the last minute I realized I had used up all my celery. They turned out delicious! The apples gave them a nice texture and a unique flavor. I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks, meow!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      I loved these! I followed the recipe except that I left out the celery. Such a nice change from heavy burgers made with bread crumbs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      I'm sure this is an awesome recipe as is. Of course I had to make some changes, because of my preferences and my supplies. I omitted the celery and poultry seasoning. I used 3/4 of an apple instead of a whole apple because I didn't think a whole apple would "fit." I added one garlic clove and used dried parsley (about 3 tablespoons) and salt and pepper. These were AMAZING. I will make these all the time. My oldest son loved them, and he has never really liked turkey burgers. I served with oven fries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I really thought these burgers would be fantastic, but they fell short of my expectations. DH thought they were very bland. I thought for sure that the 1 1/2 tsp of poultry seasoning would provide enough spice, but it didnt'. I even made sure I had a new jar of the seasoning. I have two more burgers left to cook today, and I'll add a bit more salt/pepper and garlic as suggested by other reviewers to see if that changes my rating. I didn't use the suggested mayo mixed with cranberry sauce for the topping and that might also provide the missing zing that we need.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I'll be the first to say I may have done something wrong, but my family and I just didn't think these were worth the effort. Not enough flavor. But I like the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Great versatile recipe! The first night I made this recipe using only 1lb turkey, everything else as listed except substituting 1/4 tsp cayenne for salt. Instead of hamburger shapes, I molded 2/3 of the mix into 6 "flat" hot dogs and grilled them along with onion slices. We put the "turkey burger dogs" on the buns topped with the grilled onions, thin slices of tomato & jalapeno, and mustard. My DH and I both loved them! Great leftover, and very moist. The next night I took the remaining 1/3 mix and added 1/4 cup cracker crumbs and one egg. PUt it into 6x4" pyrex loaf dish and microwaved the "turkey loaf" for 2 minutes on high, and 4 minutes on 30% (let it sit 3 minutes). Topped it with marinara sauce and parmesan cheese for a second dinner. We love it also. The apple and veggies in this mix keep it very moist. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      These were pretty good. The taste reminded me of Thanksgiving. I will make again but maybe play with the spices a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      these were alright. I prefer a spicier turkey burger. these were a little bland for me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      Absolutely delish. Nice and moist burgers. Enjoyed by all. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I’ve made this recipe twice now. You need to really chop up the apple, onoin and celery fairly fine to keep the burger from crumbling. I really enjoyed the cranberry sauce, but I couldn’t get my DH to try it. What really sealed the deal was serving these wonderful little burgers on a sandwich size english muffin. Yumm, Yumm, Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      Hrm this sort of tasted like stuffing to me. I'll try adding some things we normally throw in stuffing sometime and see how it turns out. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      The ingredients are appealing, but the final burgers lacked punch for us. The sauce is excellent! I used an egg and a little milk to make the burgers more moist. I also find in general that I need to cook turkey burgers 20-25 minutes, even if smaller.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      These were great! Even my son, who never eats 'home-made burgers,' ate most of his! I made BBQ Mayo since I didn't have any cranberries, and it went really well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      I'm always trying to find new ways to prepare ground turkey. This one sounded interesting, so I tried it. Wasn't sure what reaction BF would have, but he said he liked it. We both thought they were a little dry. I used the leanest ground turkey, and he wasn't sure if they might have been a little overcooked. I didn't have the onion specified, but I did have green onions, so I substituted 5 green onions. We thought it could have used a little more spice of some kind, but we couldn't decide what it needed. Very easy to prepare; didn't take much time. We will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      meow!, I just had these turkey burgers for dinner, and they're fantastic. I didn't have any celery, so I used zucchini, and I added some garlic too. The food processor made quick work of the veggies, which folded nicely into the turkey. I thought I'd have trouble with them falling apart but not at all. Tasty, juicy burgers, even with extra lean ground turkey! Thanks for making an enjoyable and easy dinner possible tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      My husband was a Doubting Thomas when he saw me chopping apples for turkey burgers, but he loved these. I sautéed the onions, celery and apples in a bit of olive oil before mixing with the ground turkey, as I don't care for the bite of raw onion. The flavors of these burgers melded well together. I loved the cranberry mayo, but hubby isn't a cranberry sauce fan. He poured bbq sauce over his burger and devoured 3 of them. I had forgotten to pick up english muffins, and just used regular burger buns, but will make a point of trying the toasted muffins in the future. Hubby would like me to use this recipe to make meatballs and serve them as an appy with bbq sauce. Mmmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      I was searching for just the right way to try ground turkey for the first time. I'm glad I tried these. I used only 1/2 of the apple and onion-it just seemed like way too much. The patties held together well and had a surprisingly good taste. We did make the cranberry mayo, but I suggest a slice of jellied cranberry sauce on top of each burger and perhaps a slice of mozzerella as well with a crisp lettuce leaf. The english muffins were a nice touch. If you haven't tried a turkey burger, give this recipe a shot. I think you'll like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Apple Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.1
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    41%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 104.1 mg
    34%
    Sodium 96.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 30.0 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites