19 Reviews

Wow, these were great!! I used only half the onion and apple and didn't tell my family it was ground turkey with apples. Even my picky children liked them. Oiling the pan is not necessary as the meat had enough moisture for the cooking process. This recipe is going into my family recipe box. Thanks for the great and different idea!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sadlbum February 03, 2004

Easy to make. I grated the apple in my salad shooter. I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and cooked the onion, garlic, and celery in a little water until wilted. Everyone in my family raved about these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Daily November 03, 2003

These were different and very yummy! I used a Braeburn apple instead of a mac, and had to use celery salt (and omit the regular salt) instead of the chopped celery because at the last minute I realized I had used up all my celery. They turned out delicious! The apples gave them a nice texture and a unique flavor. I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks, meow!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree August 19, 2003

I loved these! I followed the recipe except that I left out the celery. Such a nice change from heavy burgers made with bread crumbs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 November 30, 2013

I'm sure this is an awesome recipe as is. Of course I had to make some changes, because of my preferences and my supplies. I omitted the celery and poultry seasoning. I used 3/4 of an apple instead of a whole apple because I didn't think a whole apple would "fit." I added one garlic clove and used dried parsley (about 3 tablespoons) and salt and pepper. These were AMAZING. I will make these all the time. My oldest son loved them, and he has never really liked turkey burgers. I served with oven fries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth June 24, 2012

I really thought these burgers would be fantastic, but they fell short of my expectations. DH thought they were very bland. I thought for sure that the 1 1/2 tsp of poultry seasoning would provide enough spice, but it didnt'. I even made sure I had a new jar of the seasoning. I have two more burgers left to cook today, and I'll add a bit more salt/pepper and garlic as suggested by other reviewers to see if that changes my rating. I didn't use the suggested mayo mixed with cranberry sauce for the topping and that might also provide the missing zing that we need.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( October 20, 2009

I'll be the first to say I may have done something wrong, but my family and I just didn't think these were worth the effort. Not enough flavor. But I like the idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB January 01, 2009

Great versatile recipe! The first night I made this recipe using only 1lb turkey, everything else as listed except substituting 1/4 tsp cayenne for salt. Instead of hamburger shapes, I molded 2/3 of the mix into 6 "flat" hot dogs and grilled them along with onion slices. We put the "turkey burger dogs" on the buns topped with the grilled onions, thin slices of tomato & jalapeno, and mustard. My DH and I both loved them! Great leftover, and very moist. The next night I took the remaining 1/3 mix and added 1/4 cup cracker crumbs and one egg. PUt it into 6x4" pyrex loaf dish and microwaved the "turkey loaf" for 2 minutes on high, and 4 minutes on 30% (let it sit 3 minutes). Topped it with marinara sauce and parmesan cheese for a second dinner. We love it also. The apple and veggies in this mix keep it very moist. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
artistclogger June 24, 2008

These were pretty good. The taste reminded me of Thanksgiving. I will make again but maybe play with the spices a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becca Bricker January 29, 2008

these were alright. I prefer a spicier turkey burger. these were a little bland for me

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrmomof2 January 19, 2008
Turkey Apple Burgers