Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey Appetizer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey Appetizer

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2013

      I was a little daunted by this and worried about how time-consuming it would be, but as soon as I started creating my turkey it turned out to be a lot of fun and ended up looking fantastic! The cheese spread tasted awesome too. People really liked eating it with crackers and the veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      Sooooo cuuuute! I've made this turkey appetizer a few times now, The cream cheese concoction is ok, but not my favorite. Last time I made it with Ranch and Bacon Cheese Ball and it was gooood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

      I was surprised how quick fun and easy this was to put together. I did have to prepare it Thanksgiving morning and keep it in the fridge until lunchtime as we had church at 10. I took pictures to show everyone in case it didn't survive it's time in the fridge. Good thing I did because while in was in the fridge the dip kind of "melted" off the bowl and so it wasn't looking to great by lunchtime. We all enjoyed it though and I would like to try it again as it really is a gorgeous idea. Maybe the bowl I used was too slippery and a different bowl would work. Or maybe if I kept the dip on the thicker side? I would also like to try the cheese, cracker and deli meat idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Awesome!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I made it for family thanksgiving get together. It definitely came out my own creation and was fun but a lot of prep work. Noone really munched on it and so I was left with tons of left over veggies along with the other t-day leftovers. Cool idea though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This has become a tradition in our family. The Thanksgiving table is never complete without Tom Turkey. Every year he looks a little different, based on what is available, but he never fails to show off strutting his stuff. Wonderful idea Thank you posting Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This made a great Thanksgiving centerpiece! I purchased a cheeseball for the turkey body and used the tip of a yellow squash for the head (held in place by a piece of toothpick). I added 2 cloves for the eyes (since I could poke them in) and a tiny square of red bell pepper for the waddle (held in by a piece of toothpick). I also used a small piece of red bell pepper for the feet. I prepared all the veggies ahead of time and placed them in separate bowls. The morning of our feast, I pulled out the bowls one by one and let my boys (ages 3 & 7) lay out the "plumes." They loved getting to help. I also placed crackers in front of the turkey as the "ground." This was beautiful, fun to make, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Ingenious! This was quite the conversation piece and easy to assemble. I would suggest preparing all the veggies the night before, allow them to crisp up in water in the fridge, then assemble a few hours before it's debut. I used a whole cauliflower for the body, celery stalks and scallions (not pictured) for the tail feathers and piled the veggies around to resemble feathers. I used a few tooth pics to secure some of the veggies. Served with Gramma G's Blue Cheese Spread Thanks a bunch Rita, this was great fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This was so much FUN!!!!! Instead of a bowl and the cream cheese spread mentioned in the recipe, I made a triple cheese ball using Ranch and Bacon Cheese Ball. I chilled it in a big bowl lined with plastic wrap overnite. The possiblities for designing your bird are endless. I used carrots, seedless cucumbers, yellow squash, red and orange peppers, celery, cauliflower, red onion, mushrooms, radishes, salami, cheeses, green onion, and parsley. Rita, this is going to be the hit of the appy table today. Love Ya! Bren

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      this was a stunning addition to our appetizer table. I had so much fun putting it together too! ;) I added ham, provolone, turkey, and swiss... also couldn't find sun-dried tomatoes so used regular and they did the trick. that spread is very delicious! thanks for a wonderful keeper -- everyone was impressed!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I made this last year for my husbands Thanksgiving party/compitition. We won because of it! I made a cheese ball and rolled it in crushed pecan pieces for the body. It looked awesome with all the veggie "feathers"! Thanks for sharing. Now I have to find something great to make for this year as everyone has vowed to beat me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      This is great for ALL year. Such a beautiful way to display veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      I just realized that I didn't rate this after making it for Thanksgiving, 2006. It was really pretty easy to put together and a showstopper for our triplet 3 year old grandbabies. They thought I was "amazing"! The adults liked it too! Thanks for the great directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      This was a fun project that didn't require a lot of time I suppose, but more than the 30 minutes listed, for certain. I didn't use the dip recipe, but made my own favorite. One thing I do find that happens when you make food into art, people don't want to eat it because it looks so pretty. I use the analogy of "eating a beautifully decorated birthday cake", that usually encourages people to dig in and enjoy. I was in a bit of a rush when I made this, so I made a quick sub of half of an onion as a base for the turkey, which worked out well. I also added a piece of sun dried tomato on the top of "Tom's" head for something of a "turkey mohawk" they seem to have. That seemed to give him a more "finished" look, lol. Sorry for the less than clear photo I posted, but hope it helps in creating "Tom" a little bit easier. Thank you, Rita, for the inspiration this Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      This was a big hit! I think if I made this again, I would make more spread and make a mound of spread underneath. I noticed people dipping for dip and they got the bowl. I would definitely be making this impressive appetizer again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Rita, did you design this yourself? It is absolutely fantastic. I haven't made it yet but can't wait to try. Spectacular, creative and original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Fabulous!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey Appetizer

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.9
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    77%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 43.1 mg
    14%
    Sodium 183.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites