Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Turkey and Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkey and Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2013

      I tweeked this recipe a bit and it turned out excellent. First, boxed rice is probably not going to give this soup the flavor and consistency it desires. I used real mixed wild rice. I cooked it seperately on its own. I then followed the rest of the recipe ingredients except I added a bit of chopped carrot and did not include the sherry or marjoram as I did not have it on hand. I doubled the chicken stock since real wild rice needs more liquid than this recipe calls for. In the end it was rich, not too thick but great tasting! I also used fresh herbs (parsley, thyme) vs. dried. It was wonderful...would make it again and again....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      I had to add a 49 ounce can of chicken broth at the end!!! when I cooked the rice when it was done, it was thick and almost like a rice dish. So I panicked and threw in the chicken broth to make a "soup" and not a side rice dish. When I put my turkey in...there was absolutely no broth at all. It tasted great after that, but I did not need the stress of "no broth " in a soup. I had to make some last minute changes..I will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Very yummy! Made it just like the recipe. My 4-yr-old who has never liked soup loved it and said I should make it every day! Not sure I like it quite that much, but I'll definately make it again...maybe try it in the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      From Wannabechef January 21, 2010 Made this receipe with a few changes. I didn't add the sherry or soy sauce (I forgot) and skipped the egg yolk. I also made extra broth and cooked the wild rice in the broth with carrots. When I added the heavy cream I added the sauted mushrooms and onions, I also added celery. I didn't have the tyme so didn't add but added a teaspoon of monreal chicken seasoning. I gave some to two friends and they along with my husband are still raving about it. " It is the best soup you ever made". It is definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Excellent! Easy to make and delicious. It's a perfect way to use left over turkey. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      My husband and I made this only because we had the ingredients on hand and my husband loves wild rice. We were really not expecting to love it as much as we do. It is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I totally agree with Bippie, this turkey and wild rice soup is just amazing. Made it with the stock from the bones of our Thanksgiving turkey. I did not add the egg yolk and just threw everything together in one big pot because I was just burnt out from making my first Thanksgiving dinner and didn't want to do any thing. The result was absolutely delightful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Amazing! I started the ingredient list from the top and added everything into the crockpot without pre-cooking. I used a 4.2 oz package of long grain and wild rice blend and left out the egg yolk and soy sauce. Put this on low for 4 hours, then added a mix of 1TBS corn starch and 2 TBS water to thicken it up. Let that thicken for another hour and ate almost half by myself. Thanks for a very tastey and warming soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Great soup. I used some dried wild mushrooms I had on hand, and a wild rice blend, not a pre-seasoned mix, so had to cook it about an hour. I also added a chopped carrot, and a chopped celery stalk. This is a nice fall dinner, with some homemade bread. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      I made this yesterday afternoon and let it simmer for about an hour or so. I did make some adjustments though wich included leaving out the dry sherry, the marjoram, the sage and the soy sauce. I used about 4 cups of chicken that was boiled in Tony's, garlic, salt and pepper. I strained my broth and used it for my base. By the time I was done I did use the 2 1/3 cups of water but I ended up using about 5 cups of broth. It does thicken quite a bit when you chill it so I added the last cup of broth before I put it in the fridge...when I heated it up for lunch today it was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe. I will make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkey and Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 430.2
     
    Calories from Fat 297
    69%
    Total Fat 33.1 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 191.4 mg
    63%
    Sodium 1007.4 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    long grain and wild rice blend

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes