18 Reviews

A wonderful recipe. Be sure to look at step 3. I didn't exactly increase the spices, but I used heaping teaspoons instead of level teaspoons. This is a very simple and delicious dish.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Folk Dancer March 01, 2003

This made a very colorful and tasty dish! I served mine over some brown rice and it was really GOOD!I was out of raisins so I used currants.I can't wait to try the raisins!!!I did not add the extra spices and it was fine for me.I will be making this again.A great cold weather dish!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P April 04, 2003

We liked this very much. Very cheap and quick to make. We put in a lot of extra spice and liked it better that way. Adding some spinach was good too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleNico March 19, 2004

I really liked the this dish. I also increased the spices since I like my food SPICY. I did not have the pepers on hands. Maybe this is why I missed a sweet taste in this dish. I added a tbs. of brown sugar. I will experiment with the dish by adding cloves.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brunsmi August 14, 2003

This was wonderful, my mother-in-law and I really liked it, and my husband said it was pretty good. I ended up using 1 cup total of chicken stock (from a bullion cube), and I added 2 1/2 tsp of garam masala. I subbed red/yellow peppers for green, because that's what I had in my freezer. I served it over brown rice. The only thing I can think of is that I might decrease the lemon juice to 2 tsp. next time, because I could really taste it. That's just me though. Great recipe, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 June 18, 2011

4.5 stars. Delicious vegan recipe. I used heaping rather than level measures, as suggested by others. My husband and mother enjoyed this cold the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is it tasty? August 16, 2009

Great recipe - increased the spices & added garlic and ground chilli flakes. Served with rice, delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave June 03, 2009

We LOVED this dish. It held its own against the ratatouille varieties we ate in France. Even my 8 and 5 year olds loved it. Of course they were hesitant to try it when they first looked at it, ("I'm not eating any of the red or green things!") but after one bite they were sold. I followed the advice to double the spices, and I'm glad I did. I also added a little heat to it (as suggested by another reviewer) by cutting a chili pepper in half, removing the seeds, and letting it simmer with the "stew." I removed the chili before serving to my family. The chili added just enough flavor and heat without making the dish too spicy for children. The second time I made it I tred doubling the raisins, but that totally ruined the spice balance in the dish. I won't do that when I make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooknmom May 06, 2007

This was delicious and the flavours seemed to develop even more on standing. I also doubled the spices and added some chilli flakes to give a genlte kick. On the side I served some lightly fried wedges of ham from the Christmas leg to keep the carnivores in the house happy. Could also serve this with chipolatas or some other type of sausage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Magpie Jo November 13, 2006

This was alright. I am not a huge fan of chickpeas so I switched to just green peas. My boyfriend enjoyed it. It's got a very Southern vibe to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amyzan September 27, 2006
Tunisian Vegetable Stew