Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuna Turnovers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuna Turnovers

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2010

      This has been a staple recipe at my house since i discovered it on RecipeZaar three years ago. I usually leave out the pickle relish. Instead, I add about a quarter tsp. of dijon mustanrd to the mayonnaise, and use green onions (whites and a little green part) in the mix. My DSs love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      We liked this a lot, and it was super-quick to make. Thanks for posting! This made good leftovers, too, by the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      quick and good! though mine didn't look as pretty as the pics. i used pillsbury flaky biscuit for the biscuits

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These were quick, easy, and filling. Used homemade dough, which only contained SR flour, butter and milk. First bite of the pastry said it lacked salt, but a dunk in tomato sauce soon fixed that. I upped the celery for fibre and doubled the relish. I will make these again but using a few different combos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Couldn't ask for a quicker, easier meal. Used a 9 oz can tuna, added a little more cheese, and just grinded up some pickles, since I didn't have any relish! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      These were good - my children especially enjoyed them! I have made up something similar to this before so I know we would like it- if you don't feel like or have the time to form the individual turnovers, you can also make a casserole - pat the biscuit dough in the bottom of a baking dish, top with tuna mixture, sliced tomatoes and cheese and bake. I do like the individual turnovers - makes it fun to eat! :) Made and reviewed for Aus/NZ Swap #16.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Made for Freezer Tag 2008. I omitted the relish, and only used slightly more than 1/2 cup cheese. I added chopped cucumber and tomatoes instead. I really enjoyed these--warm or cold! They also froze well. I baked them and then wrapped two together in plastic wrap and put all in a large ziploc bag. You can thaw them in the refrigerator (overnight) or microwave. Then you can reheat them in the microwave. I also took them straight from the freezer for lunch, but I didn't take them out until 9am, so they were still a bit frozen. If you took them out earlier, I think they would be thawed in time for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I omitted the celery and added chopped jalopenos. They were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Oh yes, these are great! The pickle relish, something I would never have added on my own, was a fantastic addition. I didn't have biscuit dough, but I did have low-fat dinner roll dough that I needed to use up; it worked very well, although I pounded mine VERY flat in order to hold all the filling. Oh my...I just this very second realized that I never added any mayonnaise! I found it strange while mixing this up that it didn't call for it, but I didn't miss it after the fact so I guess it's better that I didn't add any! The cheese melts throughout the filling so it really didn't need any additional moisture (and I'm a mayo lover!). I didn't have onion but will add that next time. These remind me of "tuna cheesies" that my mom used to make us as kids, only the bun was already baked and you wrapped it in foil. Those buns were always a bit hard (but we loved them anyway, mom!), but these were nice and soft. I'm going to try a different version, maybe tuna with kalamata olives, feta and green onion? Thanks for sharing, pattikay! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      Tasty. The canned biscuits I bought we pretty small so these turned out more like an appetizer. Will be better w/homemade biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      These were really good. I used large flakey biscuits and I separated one of the layers and put the filling in the pocket. I definitely recommend using green onion. Thank you pattikay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      These were yummy. I didn't have celery, but these made me think of tuna melts, so I added some chopped tomatoes, which turned out to be a nice addition. I used canned biscuits, which were a tad on the salty side as it turned out. I had a can of 10 so I flattened each one and used two biscuits a turnover, which of course also meant I used more filling per turnover. A definite keeper, and I bet with homemade biscuits this could easily be a five star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuna Turnovers

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.5
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    57%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 219.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes