Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuna Salad Sandwich With a Bite! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuna Salad Sandwich With a Bite!

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2003

      This was EXCELLANT. My husband was going to make tuna fish sandwiches and I told him I had a new recipe to try so I would make them. He loved the taste. I will definitely be making this again. It is perfect for lunch. I put it on a toasted bagel. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      THis is a great recipe! My girlfriend is not a horseradish fan so I used just a touch less than called for and we both love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      This is a fantastic change from the run-of-the-mill tuna salad sandwich. The red onions and the horseradish make such a wonderful taste sensation. No more plain tuna sandwiches for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      Super yummy! My husband also likes to make tuna salad and he's tried to spice it up with curry powder which didn't quite appeal to me...When I saw this had horseradish sauce in it, I HAD to try it! I love that stuff (not to mention it clears the sinuses..lol) Anyway, I'm DEFINEATLY keeping this one! Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Outstanding recipe! I was looking for a tuna salad recipe that can be served over tomato slices and this really fit the bill! I added a small amount of celery seed and just a squeeze of lemon juice and a shake of freshly ground pepper. I've just started a low-carb diet and this is a recipe that will go in my weekly menu. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2003

      Must be noted that this is to be horseradish SAUCE, not just 'straight, chopped' horseradish, which was what I ORIGINALLY tried (yuck). This is GREAT! I'm filing this as a keeper. Loved the variety for tuna - and on a low-carb diet (diabetic tendencies) - so this is GREAT! Thanks so much for sharing! Also - I used the 'large' sized tuna and doubled the rest of the ingredients to compensate. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      Great twist on our regular tuna sandwich. I took a bite on a cracker after mixing it up and wasn't sure I liked it, but after trying it as a sandwich with lettuce I really liked it. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      I don't know why I tried this. I'm not a horseradish fan at ALL but I was looking for something different for tuna salad and life's too short to not try new things. It was really great. I cautiously went a little easy on the creamy horseradish I had on hand, but ended up adding quite a lot more. Maybe I actually do like the stuff! I used dried parsley I had on hand and I did add some chopped celery because I like added crunch. A bit of sea salt and some fresh cracked black pepper rounded it off. As another reviewer mentioned, I sort of just eyeballed the amounts. I made a double batch, loaded the goodness onto a fresh hot dog bun (no bread on hand), greedily ate some out of the bowl and still have enough left for later. Thanks Martha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Loved it! I added a touch of celery seed, dijon mustard, dill, and salt/pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      We liked this very much. It was so simple to make. Loved the horseradish too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      Just spent the week eating out (out of town) and when we got home I wanted something fast, simple and NOT FRIED. Upon inspection of the cupboard I thought "Tuna salad sandwiches" and checked food.com. Decided on this one and SOOOO GLAD I DID!!! DE-LISH-US! Even loved the suggestion of a toasted bagel as we had some in the freezer. Hubby can't stand celery so this fit the bill perfectly. Thank you, Martha! Will make this often and enjoy every bite! I did add one thing-a squeeze of lemon as I have found over and over that it just kicks tuna up a notch. love, love, love

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      I really enjoyed this recipe and we had it several times already. I follow it to the dot and it is always a hit in my house. Thanks for posting it,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      We really enjoyed this sandwich and thought the amount of horseradish was the perfect amount. Except for adding a dash of white pepper I followed the recipe exactly. Prepared with locally made bread, greens and parsley from the garden, homemade mayo. Served with cold tomato soup for an easy summer lunch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      I've never been a tuna salad kind of gal, but my husband hears the can opener and starts drooling so I just had to find a recipe we could both enjoy. This is it! I absolutely love love love this stuff. Thank you much for the amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I used prepared horseradish and it was soooooo good! Didn't have red onion so I substituted finely minced green onion along with the celery AND celery leaves. Very, very good recipe...its a keeper *Ü*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I love tuna salad and this is the way I prepare it most often. It has a nice fresh taste to it despite the canned tuna. I have often substituted yellow onions for red depending upon what I have on hand and I usually add the horseradish to taste, which for me is often a little more then 1 tablespoon. Good on a thick slice of good bread with lettuce and a tomato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Great tuna salad. I really liked the bite....we love horseradish on everything, just never thought of adding it to our tuna salad. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Simply the best tuna salad. I so look forward to this when I make it for lunch. The horseradish adds such a wonderful and delicious zip. I usually make mine in a flatbread wrap and it is a perfect compliment. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I made this for a weekend lunch and it was good. Next time, I'll add a little more horseradish because we like it spicy. I didn't use the greens or bread, we are low carbing right now and it fit the bill. Will make during the week for hubby to take to work. Thanks for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I used some subs: yellow onion, horseradish MUSTARD, Mayo (w/olive oil). Plus I added 1/2 tsp. salt and served with a layer of spring mix greens on an OroWheat Sandwich Thin. Fab-u-lous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuna Salad Sandwich With a Bite!

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.1
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    31%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 39.4 mg
    13%
    Sodium 413.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 21.3 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites