11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very yummy, everyone enjoyed this in my house. I have made tuna casserole before but with peas, but there are people in my family who hate peas, so thought I would give this a try. The ingredients are normal cuboard. The only thing is that you did not list onion in your ingredients required. I used 1 small onion and diced it. I will make this again. Thank you Faith77

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faith77 January 24, 2003

This is a very good recipe. I omitted the celery and i used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of celery. It was a little bland, but with some salt it tasted really good. Instead of shell noodles I used spirals and it turned out fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinStuff August 10, 2011

I thought it was a bit bland so I threw in some cheddar and it was great! Also used rockfish instead of tuna.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JCK September 26, 2009

pretty good the first night but fab the second and third day for lunch, and im not even a big fan of celery.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zombiesgirl August 02, 2006

I have made this recipe many times. It is one of my family's favorites. Sometimes when I have leftover rotissrie chicken, I will use that in place of tuna. Serve with corn & a salad. If I'm lucky I will have a little left over for lunch the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jack's wife June 13, 2006

I gave this recipe 5 stars because my boys loved it SO much. I omitted the celery and pimiento because I knew the kids wouldn't eat I them. Instead of shell pasta, I used whole wheat noodles broken into small pieces. Like other reviewers, I used canned chicken instead of tuna and a mixture of wheat germ and bread crumbs for the topping. To lower the fat content, I sprayed the saute pan with nonstick spray instead of using butter and gave the crumb topping a good spray with butter flavored nonstick spray instead of mixing with butter. Baked for 25 minutes and it was just right. We will have this again, for the kid WOW factor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janem123 December 05, 2005

This was easy to put together, but it was a teeny bit bland and a bit heavy on the celery. No stars - these last two complaints could have been my fault since I somehow forgot to add the onion, and I don't want to fault the recipe if it was really my fault.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch September 10, 2005

This was a good casserole. I wanted to use whole wheat pasta and couldn't find shells so I used whole wheat bowties which worked well. I also used wheat germ instead of breadcrumbs. I wanted to add more veggies to the dish so I did add a cup of peas, but I won't do that next time, it didn't really go well (which is probably why it's not in the recipe! LOL). I will make this again and just make a veggie side dish or salad to go with it. Thanks for a great tuna recipe! UPDATE: This was even better reheated the next day for lunch, with the peas and all.. LOL! DH even requested the remaining leftovers for lunch the third day. Thanks again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debra1113 June 10, 2005

This was delicious!! And very easy to make. I used egg noodles instead of shell pasta, and I also used canned chicken instead of tuna. I will definitely make this again! (Great as leftovers, too!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeth May 07, 2004

We have come to love this recipe in my house! All the kids have learned to make it (well, the 5-yr-old helps by doing a "swimming tuna" dance) & it's a Friday night staple. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha Taccone July 09, 2003
Tuna Noodle Casserole