Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuna Melt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuna Melt

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2008

      What a great recipe!! I had company over for lunch and it went over very well! Thank you! My Niece said "Wow I feel like I am eating a cheeseburger without the guilt" So from now on I am making my tuna this way all the time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      The recipe for this tuna melt has been around since 1969. My aunt was serving us this type of tuna melt then. If she had know then with 13 children in the house that it would be so popluar she would have entered it herself as a recipe. It was just a good meal for us,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      A nice, tasty treat for lunch! I did not use low-fat mayo or cheese, but full strength. LOL Also, I add finely chopped green onions (with the green tops too) Thanks for posting, Dancer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Thanks Dancer! This was really good. I used sourdough rye bread and extra aged white cheddar on top. I added about a tablespoon of pickle juice to add some zip. Yum! I'm going to post a photo too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      This is a very nice lunch. I wasn't sure how much ketchup to use so I just used one good squirt for a half recipe. I think next time I will add a wee bit of vinegar or the juice from the pickles. I didn't have low fat cheese so I used regular old cheddar but less of it. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This tastes great! I used a 420 gram can of tuna, about 1/3 of an onion, 2-3 heaped TBS of mayo, around 4-5 heaped TBS of ketchup, two gherkins and regular extra sharp cheddar. I left the celery out as I didn't have any. The quantities I used made around six sandwiches, which I toasted in a little oil in a pan on the stove top. Some I made with rye bread, the others white bread with oats, and both turned out really well. So tasty, and very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      First of all, I LOVE tuna melts, TRUE! This is GREAT way to spread a can of tuna too! Makes ho hum tuna, the catch of the day! Glad this recipe came my way! Wondered if ketchup and dill pickle were factored in re fat too, Used two small gerkins, 1 tbsp ketchup...hope is still low fat, TRUE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I love tuna salad with lots of red onion and this one fits the bill. The cheddar cheese on top really adds to the flavor. Made this for a quick lunch on Sunday and enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Good tuna melt, what more can you say? DH used mozz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      This melt sandwich was excellent! The difference in mine was that I used a square-shaped bagel bread and swiss cheese. I had this with chicken noodle soup. What a great comfort sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      I made this with leftover hotdog buns and with green onions. It would probably be much better with the muffins, but it was still good. I liked the combination of mayo, ketchup and dill pickles. It was very easy to make and tasty. This will be made again and again. Thanks for a great recipe, Dancer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      this recipe is a gem of a find for us, something we will be making over and over again when we are looking for some quick snacking fare. it's so deceptively simple, one of the recipes where you think "now why haven't i thought of this already?". excellent recipe - thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      What a great idea, Dancer! I can't believe I never thought of making tuna melts this way! Delicious, and just what I was craving! The toased English muffin is so much better than plain toast! Thank you! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuna Melt

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.5
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    18%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 22.3 mg
    7%
    Sodium 418.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat mayonnaise

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites