11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this for aobut 20 years now exactly as your recipe calls for except i dont finish the cooking in the micorwave, i put it on a preheated 350 F oven for about 20 minutes. I also call it chicken surprise, surprise its not chicken. My # 3 daughter would cringe if i said it was tuna. Yes she ate it and still does and she asks mom is this "chicken surprise" Tina

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina Madden September 14, 2007

came together easliy. used tuna in olive oil, well drained. 1/3 sprinkled with cheese for the grandkids (2 and 4) 1/3 with a custard topping for kids, (30 and 31) 1/3 with added chilli and garlic and custard topping. very versatile recipe, and a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills June 03, 2008

I tried this recipe with green peas, which is not one of my favorite veggies, so I was hesitant to rate the recipe. I just felt that was fair since my personeal tastes shouldn't affect a rating. But, today I re-made the recipe and subbed the green peas with 1lb. fresh wilted spinach...which IS a favorite of mine. It was wonderful! I made no other changes. AND, tonight I used a serving of leftovers, added an egg and some cheese and made a fritata for dinner. OH MY!!, what a wonderful, versitile recipe. Had to give you a great rating, though I did have to alter it a bit. On versitility alone, it deserves 5 stars. Will freeze some portions now, and have a few more ready to go fritata dinners on hand. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP July 07, 2006

Thanks for a fast recipe!! It comes in handy for those hectic days. I sampled it before I put it in the microwave, good stuff. I know that the kids are going to like this one. I used 16 ounces of noodles and 10 ounces of frozen peas. I put the peas in with the noodles the last minute of cook time to help them thaw. I cooked my noodles to al dente and mixed everything in a large bowl then poured it into the baking dish. I had NO problems with milk in the bottom of the dish in the end. Next time I make this I can see mixing some onions in the noodles and then add cheddar cheese on top. Oh YUM, I'm making this one again. I made this for *Fall PAC 2007* game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J September 29, 2007

This was super quick and very easy to make. I don't like tuna casserole, so on nights when I am not well enough to eat this will be my go to for the rest of the family. It only took about 15 minutes start to finish to make. My husband said it is a 4 star recipe, so that is how I got the star rating. All 3 of my kids happily ate it. Thanks for such an easy recipe Chef1MOM-Connie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely February 06, 2015

This was a nice tuna noodle casserole, very similar to what I have been making for years. I do always finish mine off in the oven with a few crumbled potato chips on top, as my husband loves crunch. I felt it needed more liquid. For the leftovers I added more cream of mushroom soup and it was then the consistency of what I was use to. Very homey recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser September 19, 2013

DH and I liked it. The addition of peas was especially nice. I added a sprinkle of cornflake crumbs to give it a little crunch, and I thin it was a good idea. My grand-kids will certainly go for this. tagged in decembe beverage tag.. a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby December 07, 2008

This was really good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the pat of butter and just cooked it in one pan (since I didn't add the butter, I didn't finish it up in the microwave). This was a good, easy weeknight meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 14, 2008

Superb!! I made this while visiting at DD's in Canada. DD & SIL loved it, but Alexis my grand daughter was the one who devoured most of it. Simple to make and tasty, will make again. This was one of my choices for PAC 07.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 April 25, 2007

This is an adopted tag for Sharon 123. Sharon, you enjoyed this. It's childhood homey and tasty. You did end up with liquid in the bottom that didn't thicken even with an extra 3.5 mins in the microwave. Not sure why as we used the ask for amount of milk but it didn't harm the taste and, after all, what are spoons for? Very quick and easy and perfect for a rushed night. This is also very kid friendly and will please the whole family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 08, 2006
Tuna Fish Casserole