10 Reviews

awesomely simple recipe. i used ketchup and sriracha instead of the tomato juice, and added a lil onion powder and old bay. amazed at how well the wheat germ holds the patties together. didn't have dill. quick and easy. i made a sriracha mayo. i made four, but i could make mini patties and sit these out as an economical appetizer for guests. keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allison_marie October 08, 2012

I made these a while back and need to make them again before I add any stars to my review. I remember them being good but they fell apart a bit. I don't normally like warm (or hot) tuna, but this was an exception for me. I look forward to making these again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominique353 October 24, 2009

These were really delicious. I've tried a lot of tuna patty recipes and I think this is the keeper! I followed the recipe aside from one (odd) substitution. I didn't have any tomato juice, so I mixed crushed tomatoes with dill pickle juice in about a 2:1 ratio. I left the amount of dill the same because we're dill freaks. I really like how healthy the wheat germ makes these instead of just adding empty carbs with bread crumbs. Served with some mayo with red pepper paste and crushed garlic. Thanks so much Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy May 09, 2009

very good, I used the 2 tablespoons fresh dill but next time I will decrease slightly, the wheat germ added somewhat to the flavor, not sure if I would use it again though, I also added in 2 tablespoon mayonnaise, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, fresh ground black pepper and seasoned salt, thanks for sharing Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 03, 2008

I made half the recipe and used dried onion in place of the dill and seasoned pepper. I kicked it up a notch by dredging the patties in seasoned flour before frying in my cast iron skillet! They were great and I ended up with four nice sized patties. PaulaG, thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose January 25, 2008

Very good recipe and healthy! I made 1/2 the amount and was able to made 6 medium sized patties. I also added lemon juice and garlic. I separated the servings and ate 3 patties first and decided to jazz up the second 3 by adding some crumbled cheese to the mixture. It was DELICIOUS!!! I am definitely making more of these. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuDrEy FaNg September 10, 2006

I thought these were just great! I made 1/2 batch as well for what I thought was just myself. DS had a friend over and his eyes got real big as I took them out of the frying pan all nice and golden brown. (This is the same kid that has been showing up around meal time since the ZWT started LOL)We BOTH enjoyed them. Thanks for posting another great recipe! Nick's Mom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. July 11, 2006

i made a 1/2 recipe its good .dee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. July 10, 2006

These croquettes were quick and easy to make, and the instructions were really clear. I added 4 cloves of minced garlic which I lightly sautéed then allowed to cool before adding to the other ingredients in step one. I used ½ tomato juice and ½ lemon juice. I loved the inclusion of the wheat germ: a nice healthy addition. And the dill flavouring was great, as was the garlic! I’m sure the tuna patties I ate as a child didn’t have dill or garlic! A great everyday recipe, PaulaG, and these croquettes can easily be whacked in a sandwich with some baby spinach leaves and grated carrot and taken to work for lunch. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 06, 2005

Made 1/2 recipe for lunch- really yummy. Next time I will try adding some lemon zest or juice maybe lemon pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 06, 2005
Tuna Croquettes